The following my well be connected
to the people above.
Thomas Danby the son of Thomas Danby the Parson was baptised 8 Mar 1659.
Nathan son of Thomas Danby Parson of Keighley was bapt. the 30 Jun 1666.
Thomas Danby Rector of Keighley buried the 15 Feb 1675
The family we are looking at is from Cullingworth, Hallas Hall. John
married Alice Binns of Oxenhope, They had many children. We shall start
with Alice, she married Halifax papermaker William Emmet, after the
death of Alice, William married his uncle Emanuel Emmet widow, Sarah
Chadwick. Brother of above Alice, Jonathan William Anderton
married Sarah Blakey daughter of Samuel of Aireworth Mill. Another
brother John a worsted Manufacturer produced a son William Anderton
who had married Mary Maud produced three daughters who would marry into
industrial families of Keighley, Elizabeth to John Broadley Greenwood of
the Haworth Greenwood line. Martha to William Lister Marriner. Mary to John Brigg. Swithin Anderton
Justice of the Peace and Worsted Spinner Eastbrook Mills,
Bradford. Was the son of Jonathan and Sarah Blakey, his grave is a
listed building Monument. John
Anderton was a worsted manufacturer first at a mill in Cullingworth
built by John Briggs, after used by Benjamin Craven, then John, John
would move to Bent’s Mill. Around 1826 William Anderton would take on
Dubb Mill and build a new mill across the road.
- Ashall - Ashald
This once reasonably prominent family seemed to have faded away from the
limelight. We know that John Ashall in the late 1600's was living at the
High Field. When one of his son's James married Martha Craven of Skipton
it was a Quaker marriage. James and Martha most definitely carried on
following that religion for we find references to the births and deaths
of their children in the Quaker registry.
John Asquith born 10 Feb 1771 in the Kidwick area was a farmer and surveyor of the Keighley kendal road.
His son Emanuel was a book keeper and lived at Stubbin in Keighley, his
first wife was Esther Rishworth the daughter of Midgley Rishworth,
second wife was Mary Smith daughter of Manufacture Robert Smith. One of
Emanuel's son's Midgley Asquith was a draper. Another son Rishworth Asquith
stated off being a Solicitor's Clerk but changed course and became Manager of
Thomas Bailey, in his early working life was the Assessor and collector of Income Tax
for the town. He later, around 1820 became a worsted Manufacture of Upper Holme House, then
Plumbers Mill in South Street. 1851 and we still find him on South Street but now described
as Worsted top maker and provision dealer. His father was Nathan Bailey
who owned Cliffe Green Farm at Laycock.
John Bairstow of Steeton had a large family. Daughter Hannah married
John Midgley, their son William became a corn miller in Keighley and later
in Horsforth, William Midgley had married Sarah Helen Spencer daughter of George a Solicitor
of North Gate House, North Street. George Spencer had married Sarah Bairstow.
Sarah and Hannah were sisters. Mathew Bairstow son of John married Hannah Bairstow
from Northowram, she was the daughter Samuel Bairstow. The Steeton
Bairstow's were corn millers and Spinning manufacturers,T. & M Bairstow’s worsted manufacturers. Percy Bairstow
great grandson of the above mentioned John, married Amy Spencer who
was the great granddaughter of the above mentioned John Spencer. Her uncle was
Swire Smith. Amy's father was John Bairstow Spencer.
Mathew and Hannah Bairstow's daughter Emily married James Nicholson Clarkson of
Whitby, his brother was Sir William Clarkson, naval officer. James Nicholson Clarkson
was practicing law and was a solicitor with the firm Spencer Clatkson & Co., 40, North Street,
Keighley. James and family lived at Riddlesden Hall after moving from Holly Bank,
built Holme Mill around 1816
was born in the late 1700's Married Ann Spencer, the daughter of John of
Broom House. John Spencer and Sons wool staplers consisted of father John,
son's John and David, and Thomas Binns. The Binns family lived at Croft
House until around the time of Thomas death. In a trade directory for 1822
we found the following entry, Binns and Williamson, Worsted Spinners and
Thomas Binns started spinning with James Cawood and Joseph Wright at
Stubbin House otherwise known as Screw Mill which had been built before
1787 and re built 1808. Thomas liked hunting and the high life, he owned
his own pack of hounds and employed well known Utley huntsman Thomas
Smith. When Thomas attended the cloth market he was always well turned
out in a blue coat, white or yellow waistcoat, ruffled shirt, kersy
breeches buttoned at the knee finished off with yellow toped boots.
Entertaining at Croft House was a lavish affair and the standard of fare
known throughout the district. We do not know who ran the monetary
affairs for the family after the death of Thomas, but it would appear
that it was squandered putting the family in a much less comfortable
situation than they had become used to.
There were two main families, and they came from Marley and Keighley.
For the Keighley family we shall start with William Blakey born 1635, we
know he had two sons, William and James. James had a son William born
1688 who married Dorothy Haggas in 1716. William was a Searge weaver and
at his death in 1759 he is recorded at Bracken Bank, Keighley.
William and Dorothy had a son Jonas who also married into the Haggas
family, he married Elizabeth Haggas.
Sarah daughter of William and Dorothy, married Abraham Binns a wool comb
William Thomas grandson of the above William and Dorothy married 1774
Betty (Elizabeth) Greenwood the daughter of John and Ann Heaton of
Bridgehouse Mill, Haworth. They had a daughter Ann (Nancy) Blakey who
married 1791 John Greenwood of Ellar Carr Mill, Cullingworth the son of
John of Cabbage Mill. Ann died one year after her marriage.
Frances granddaughter of William and Dorothy married 1776 Lister Ellis,
their son also called Lister would become known for Castlefield mill at
John of Townfield Gate, son of Jonas and Elizabeth Haggas married
Mary Clapham, it is believed that it was this John Blakey who sold the
land called Dam Close where Greengate Mill was built to Mr. Stell in 1761.
John the grandson of John and Mary Clapham started his working life as a
manufacturer, later becoming a corn miller and maltster.
Elizabeth daughter of John and Mary Clapham married surgeon George Beck,
their son John Blakey Beck would follow in his fathers footsteps for an
Alice daughter of John and Mary Clapham married John Horrocks, grandson
of John Haggas and Elizabeth Horsfield.
Thomas Blakey Corn miller and son of John the corn miller married well,
his wife was Emma Wall the daughter of Thomas Wine & Spirit
Merchant, Emma was also the granddaughter of Thomas Howgill Iveson of
Greengate mill. Son of Thomas and Emma, John, also a corn miller
move from Layland House to Thornleigh, Carlton Road. He also married
well, Alice Maude Summerscales the daughter of Joseph the iron
founder. Ann daughter of John the cornmiller married Alfred Wall,
he was the son of Thomas Wall wine and spirit merchant and Mary Iveson.
Alfred Wall had moved to Bradford to try his hand in the textile
Sarah daughter of Samuel, Solicitor and builder of Aireworth Mill
married Jonathan William Anderton surgeon of Hallas Hall. After his
death Sarah married Samuel Nichols landlord of the Brown Cow, Bingley.
Another daughter of Samuel, Martha married Henry Clapham of the
manor house Utley.
Samuel Phillip Blakey the great grandson of John and Mary Clapham
seems to have fallen on hard times, in 1911 we find him in the notorious
Model Lodging House, Leeds Street with his occupation listed as Tripe
Isabel daughter of William and Dorothy Haggas married John Sugden of
Bracken Bank, manufacturer of stuff pieces with a warehouse
connected to his house, later he concentrated on farming.
Jonas Blakey cordwainer Low
Street was married to Elizabeth Waterhouse daughter of Thomas draper of
South Street. Their son John took his trade to Potter Newton in Leeds
and employed 300 people.
We now come to a small puzzle, in 1774 a female child is born, Blakey Blakey,
the parish records tell us this child's mother is Alice Blakey, but we
do not know if Alice is single or a widow. Blakey Blakey
went on to marry John Blakey Carrodus, and the children they had for
some reason kept on dropping the Carrodus every now and then. Those
doing family research into this family will need to double check that
they have the right family.
Jeremiah Booth born late 1600's or early 1700's is recorded at the baptism
of his children as an Inn Keeper, unfortunately for us the Parish
records do not tell us which Inn. We do know however that he died in 1772.
Of his four sons one also named Jeremiah Booth also became an Inn Keeper
at the Golden Fleece, Cook Lane. He married Anne Banks. Amongst their
other children they produced a son Banks Booth, he married Grace Spencer
the daughter of John of Broom House, Spring Gardens Lane. Banks was at
the Woolpack. Banks two children were baptised at Colne, John Lister Booth
was a grocer at Damside, another son Spencer Banks Booth, was a book
Another Booth who was an inn keeper was Joseph Booth, at this time we
have found no connection to the above Booths, Joseph descended from
Edward a butcher in Silsden. One of his sons, David Wilkinson Booth, a
butcher, had a son John Brook Booth who moved to Rastrick, at first
running a public house, then stating up the Red Cross Brewery in Rastric.
John Booth born in Addingham, was for a while spinning cotton at Castle
Mill. His wife, Margaret Fox, was the daughter of James Fox, a hatter in
The very mention of the name brings back memories of Bottomleys mint
rock, Chlorodyne Lozenges, Kamarella Toffee & the Prize
medal awarded Bottomleys Acidulated lime Fruit Tablets.
Jonas Bottomley was born in Keighley and the son of textile worker by
the same name Jonas. In his young life Jonas Jnr also worked in textiles
as a Dyer before starting his career into confectionary. Jonas Jnr had
an elder brother John who from Mill Hill ran a milk round, but later
returned to textiles. John's son Gordon became a poet and author.
In 1883 Jonas Bottomley was robbed & killed in Leeds, the firm
continued under the direction of his son's.
farmers of Calversyke Hill since the 15th Century.
The Briggs of Calversyke intermarried with the Briggs at Guardhouse.
Briggs farm Laycock laycockvillage.com
Family grave yard, Briggs Sepulcher at the bottom of North Dean Road, which used to be called Lynum
Street, was built by Briggs, it was intended for family use, but other
Friends are buried here.
Brigg Gentleman farmer of Guard House had no interest in
textiles until his family became related to the Cravens, the textile
business being financed it would seem from agriculture.
Thomas Brigg of Guard House was
first married to a lady named Ruth, after her death he
married the widow of Robert Craven in 1674. Thomas and Ruth had a
daughter Sarah who married Richard Shackleton of Harden, he was the son
of Roger Shackelton and Mary Roper.
Thomas father was John Brigg of Sutton.
Joshua Brigg acquired Brow End Farm near Laycock when Thomas
Brigg of Guardhouse married the widow of of Robert Craven and after
her death he inherited the farm.
Elizabeth Brigg of Kildwick married in 1826 William Spencer of
Malsis Hall, she was his second wife.
Brigg was a member of the Society of Friends, but married
outside his rank and was expelled from the Friends. The Briggs family
then became (Independents) Congregationalists. They gave generous
contributions for the building of churches of all denominations.
of Thomas Barnard & Paulina Brigg
& Greengate Mills, and later Reediford, Colne
Low mill abt 1840
|Margaret Ann Marriner
Thomas Brigg died in 1764 he was a yeoman weaver of Guardhouse, apprehended in Keighley in 1682
along with others because of their Quaker beliefs and refusal to pay
tithes to Keighley Parish Church. They were imprisoned in York Castle
for four months and had possessions ceased in lieu of tithes. He
married in 1674 Mary Clapham, after Thomas death she married John
Craven who had bought Walk Mill in 1776.
Edmund Laycock timber merchant married first Mary Brigg and after her
death married in 1834 Mary's sister Isabella. These were the daughters
of Thomas Brigg of Guard House, the sisters brother
Sir John Brigg married Margaret
Ann Marriner. John died in 1867. Is registered in
Pigot's Directory of 1829 under Worsted Spinners and Stuff
Manufacturers Guard house, lived at Broomfield House, he is also
recorded as living at Kildwick Hall. He is registered as running
The son of Sir John and Margaret, John Brigg, married Mary Anderton,
she was the daughter of William Anderton who was a descendent of the
Anderton's of Hallas Hall.
William Marriner Brigg, son of John and Margret, married Sarah Ann
Marriner, his sister Mary Jane Brigg married John Craven the son of
John Craven and Margaret Young.
Thomas Brigg, the son of John and Mary Anderton, married Helen Amelia
Haggas daughter of John Haggas and Elizabeth Clough.
Asa Briggs, Baron Briggs thepeerage.com
Atkinson (17??-1817) Johnson married Elizabeth
Busfield and added Busfield to his surname in 1772 when his wife
inherited her uncle Thomas's estate. lived at Myrtle
Grove, Bingley which became the Bingley Town Hall, built where Springhead farm previously
stood. Because of debts he sold Myrtle Grove in 1805 to General
Atkinson Busfield 1775-1849 Rector of St Michael, Wood Street
& of St Mary Staining & Lecturer of St Mary-le-bone..
William Atkinson Busfield son of Johnson, William
died in 1851.
Rev William Busfeild 1802-1878 Rector of Keighley. Succeeded to
Upwood estates on death of uncle William in 1851
Busfield. He was
born 15 Jan 1838, Cottingley Bridge, Bingley.
He later took the name Ferrand, and became known as William
Busfield Ferrand, Of Rishworth Hall & St Ives. He married Emily
Priscilla Harris. Her father was Alfred Harris (1801-1880), there was
an Alferd Harris registered living at Ryshworth Hall Bingley, William's
Grandmother was called Sarah Ferrand. The
Ferrands held the corn mill in Carleton and were stewards
of Skipton Castle; eventually, in the seventeenth century, they moved
to Harden Grange and St. Ives, Bingley, becoming clothiers and wool
William Busfield Ferrand was named in the Will of Silvester
Petyt as a person who could advise his Executors and Trustees in
the purchase of land and property. His father Johnson
Atkinson Busfield. In 1839 he first assumed by Royal Licence
the name and arms of Ferrand in addition to those of Busfeild but
later dropped Busfeild altogether
The 1901 census reports his total household as:
Governess and House servants: Altar Lane Lodge: 1 gamekeeper and wife.
Cross Gates: 1 coachman with wife and pupil teacher son. White
Cott: Farm bailiff and wife. Bothy: 3 gardeners. Ancient
Bingley is an excellent sauce of the Busfield family line.
Family lb014d6950 thoresby.com of Cliffe Castle The following
given to us by Allan Smith. The image is the P.S. part of a letter, to
who we do not know, but it starts off: Tell James Write .... asking
them to ensure that James Wright takes all fire precautions at 'the
mansion'. This confirms his stewardship there. In the account of James
Wright's funeral, it definitely says that the old Cliffe Hall (or
Netherwood Hall as they called it) was dismantled and re-built as 'The
and is from Henry Isaac Butterfield. You can see a larger version by
clicking on the image below to which we thank Allan Smith for allowing
us to use.
THE LONDON GAZETTE, DECEMBER 13, 1867
In Chancery. In the Matter of the Act
to facilitate Leases and Sales of Settled Estates (10th and 20th
Victoria, chapter 120); and in the Matter of the one undivided tenth
or other share, by the Will of the late John Butterfield, of Keighley,
in the county of York, Worsted Manufacturer and Merchant, deceased,
devised, in trust, for his sister Sarah Ann Butterfield and her issue,
with remainder over, of and in divers Mills, Messuages, Lands,
Tenements and Hereditaments in the parishes of Bradford, Keighley, and
Bingley, in the county of York, consisting of or comprising a Worsted
Mill, Messuage, fifteen Cottages, and a Cellar Dwelling, and seven
Closes of Land at Lumbfoot, near Stanbury, in the parish of Bradford,
in the county of York, in the occupation of William Butterfield and
others; the Prospect Mills, and five Cottages at Hey Gardens, in the
parish of Keighley, in the county of York, with several Pieces of Land
adjoining thereto or held therewith, in the said parish of Keighley,
four Closes of Land at Lumbfoot aforesaid, called North Heys. and
Holmes-over-the-Waters, in the parish of Bradford aforesaid, a capital
Messuage, with the Gardens, Pleasure Grounds, and Closes of Land
belonging thereto, at Cliffe, in the parish of Keighley aforesaid,
occupied by the said William Butterfield; " a Messuage, with
Cottages and Combers' Shop adjoining thereto, at Lower Spring-gardens,
in the parish of Keighley aforesaid, and a Close of Land adjoining
thereto, called Cliffe Close; two
seats in the pews numbered 8 and 10 in the south gallery of the Parish
Church of Keighley, in the parish of Keighley aforesaid; two Closes of
Land at Hainworth Wood Bottom, in the parish of Bingley, in the county
of York, called the Little Near Field and the Far Field; three Closes
of Land, called the Cliffe Field, the Calf Field, and part of the
Turnip Close, situate at Cliffe aforesaid, in the parish of Keighley
aforesaid; a Warehouse in Piccadilly, in the borough of Bradford, in
the parish of Bradford, in the county of York, occupied by the said
William Butterfield; three Pieces of Land, part of the Turnip Close
and the Great Cliffe Close, in the parish of Keighley aforesaid;
several Plots of Land near Woodhouse, in the parish of Bingley
aforesaid, called the Low Holme and the Low Beckside Holme, and High
Holme, part of the brow and part of the bed of the Beck or River
Worth; a Plot of Land near Woodhouse aforesaid, staked out from a
Close called Hainworth Wood, in the parish of Bingley aforesaid; three
Closes of Land, called the Two Brows and Holling Royd, near the Cliffe
Hall Estate, in the parish of Keighley aforesaid; an annual cent of
sixpence, formerly payable to the Duke of Devonshire by the said John
Butterfield and William Butterfield, out of Lands in the parish of
NOTICE is hereby given, that a Petition in
the above .*_% matters was, on the 2nd day of December, 1867,
presented to the Right Honorable the Lord High Chancellor of Great
Britain, the Vice-Chancellor Wood, by Richard Shackleton Butterfield,
of Woodland, in the parish of Bradford, in the county of York, Esq.,
William Butterfield, of Cliffe Hall, in the parish of Keighley, in the
said county, Esq., and Sarah Ann Butterfield, of Cliffe Hall
aforesaid, Spinster, praying that an Order may be made that one equal
undivided tenth part of the said mills, messuages, lands, tenements,
and hereditaments, which by the will of the said John Butterfield
was-devised, upon trust, for the petitioner Sarah Ann Butterfield and
her issue, with remainder over, in default of issue, may be sold to
the petitioner William Butterfield, at the price of £2900, or at such
other price as may be fair and reasonable.—Dated this 10th day of
December, 1867. H. B. CLARKE, No. 14, Serjeants Inn, Fleet street,
London; Agent for WRIGHT and WATERWORTH, Keighley, Yorkshire,
Solicitors to the Petitioners.
Isaac Butterfield of Lane Ends,
Oakworth married Sarah Shackleton daughter of Richard of Goose Eye
Mill, in partnership with John Bottomley and Thomas Shackleton.
Isaac's son Richard Shackleton Butterfield married Jane Wright Barlow
daughter of Robert Barlow of the Mansion House Keighley and Step
daughter of Joseph Craven of Park House, Steeton.
Frank Butterfield was in
partnership with William Gott, who had started an ironmongers in 1890
and moved into the Royal Arcade in 1901 before taking Frank Butterfield
into partnership in 1910, They were possibly Keighley's best known
ironmongers, Gott and Butterfield. The partnership only lasted seven
years, ending in 1917. but until closure in 1983 was always referred to
as Gott and Butterfield.
Like many of Keighley's business men Frank came from humble beginnings.
Frank's grandfather John was a tin plate maker, as was his son and
Frank's father, also called John. John junior was married to Mary Hannah Carrodus,
she was the daughter of Thomas the hairdresser, and sister to the well known
musician John Tiplady Carrodus. Frank's older brother Thomas Alexander Carrodus Butterfield
became a pharmacist. Another brother Charles Smith Butterfield moved
away from the area and seems to be the only son who married. Sisters
Emily and Elizabeth married but the other girls seem to have remained
single. The sisters Louise, Maggie, Lucy and Maria were school
Alice Calvert married Hiram Craven of Oakworth. Alice had a brother
called Lodge Calvert, his first wife was Elizabeth (Betty) Summerscales,
the daughter of William. Lodge second wife was Martha Blakey, the
daughter of Samuel, Solicitor and builder of Aireworth Mill. Martha was
the widow of Henry Clapham. It was a son from this union, Samuel Blakey Clapham,
who being a Worsted Spinner employing 168 males, 75 females, 38 Boys, 29
Girls, at Aireworth Mill (Screw Mill), and with whom Lodge went into business
Lodge by trade was a joiner, who is said to have built his own
first worsted-spinning frame. He started out in 1805 by renting at space
and power at Ingrow.
A family of Reed and Heald makers.
The is very little written about the Carr family in the local history of
Keighley, so it is from John Hodgson's book that we glean a little
William Carr from Scorton near Preston, having become expert in his
trade of mechanic came to Keighley around 1790. The grandfather of
Joseph of Coney Lane, and Thomas, reed and heald maker of Hanover
He took a place which stood on the site now occupied by the Fleece Inn,
the Fleece is now long gone. He was at this place for around eight years
working as a jobbing blacksmith and whitesmith. Hodgson tells us that Joseph
Town had said William was the cleverest mechanic in the town. 1798 he
resided in a house later known as the Golden Lion Inn, also long gone.
Hodgson believes that the house was quite possibly built for William. He
seems to have given up business about 1817, William Dean taking over the
property for his cabinet making business. Hodgson also tells us that
three of Williams sons were engaged in machine making. Edward who had
his shop in Low Street, John repaired flyers and guides, and also a
noted gunsmith. Thomas moved to Bingley, and for a long time was a machine
maker, his son John taking over but producing manly steam engines.
At some point George Richardson had been in partnership with Carr.
William made purchases from William Smith the clockmaker (Prince Smith
father). Berry Smith served his apprentice with William Carr.
We were able to find some entries in the parish register for this
family, but there was a noticeable absence of there being a full record,
acting on a hunch we turned our direction to the Roman Catholic's, and
we were able to find some further entries.
Edward: From the baptism of one of the children, we know that Edward was at
living at Low Street in 1824. Edward married Susannah Pearson, Edward,
Susannah and son Agustin are living in Coney Lane in 1841, and Edward is
there in 1851 and 1861, dieing in 1863. We find Susannah and son Augustine
at Greengate, both Susannah and Edward are shown married on the census. Augustine is an iron
molder, in 1871 he is living in the Lodging house in Turkey Street with
his wife and children, and he is the head of the house, 1871 the family
are in Great Marsden, by 1881 back in Keighley and at 64 Turkey Street,
he is listed as a widow and a lodger. Edwards eldest son, Joseph, is Spindle maker
and Mechanic on Coney Lane. Another son Thomas, an Iron moulder. 1841 we
find him at Greengate, 1851 Turkey Street, 1861 the census says Leeds
Street, with occupation Iron moulder and lodging house keeper. Probate
in 1868 says he is a lodging house keeper of Turkey Street.
John: Gun and whitesmith 1829 High Street, and in 1841
living in Collage Street. Son Joseph a reed maker lived Pinfold and
Westgate, Joseph married twice, he had at least seven children with his
wife Sarah. Second wife Bridget Haley a widower who had been married to Thomas Ryan,
came with a ready made family of three boys. Johns other son Thomas was
married to Jane Caygill, and they produced a large family. His eldest
Mark William Carr, 1881 216 Oakworth Road. 1891 79 Oakworth Road. Had a
Frederick William Carr, 79 Oakworth Road. Thomas William Carr, 1851 Turkey Street.
1851 Leeds Street, two doors away from the other Thomas Carr.
Thomas and Jane had a son called Thomas, either this one or his father
was a well known breeder of Airedale Terriers and won many prizes at
shows. Young Thomas married Alice Greenwood, and their son Francis Henry Carr
became a Catholic priest.
Another son of Thomas and Jane, Sam, married Janet Murgatroyd, they went
to live in Preston and Sam was a Cabinet Maker.
John also a son of Thomas and Jane, became a Catholic priest.
Thomas: Moved to Bingley and in the 1822 trade directory is described
as machine maker and worsted spinner. 1837 machine maker Main Street.
His son John is recorded as an engine maker. John Carr & Co
Sarah: Married Samuel Smith a native of Keighley, and they were
married at Keighley. They moved to a farm at Wyersdale, Lancashire,
interestingly two farms away there is a Richard Carr farmer.
While researching the above family we came across another William
while we have not been able to ascertain for definite that he was
related to the above family, we greatly suspect that he was William Carr
the elder's son.
married to Anna Corry, she might have been his second wife. William is a
Mechanic on Brunswick Street. Daughter Jane married Joshua Robinson,
manufacturer from Hill Top.
We were able to trace the baptism of two of William and Anna's children
in the RC registers of St Anne's Keighley.
Son Edward Carr a Clock and watch dealer in Market Place.
1861 and his description is Clock and watch dealer & eating house.
Daughter Margaret married Joseph Scaife, Reed and Heald maker Cook
Lane, but in 1871 was livery stables manager and living at Adelaide
Edward Carr (wife Sarah nee Smith married 1845) owner of the Haymarket
Hotel died 5 December 1868 leaving his property to his daughter Margaret
Ann Scaife. Margaret Ann Scaife subsequently died 16 March 1869 leaving
the property including the pub in trust to her daughter Margaret Ann
Scaife (an infant). The ownership of the property was on 3 July 1871
legally annexed to Sarah Carr until her grand daughter came of lawful
age to inherit. Margaret Ann Carr married Joseph Scaife of Keighley in
Bradford in 1868. The 1871 census living in Adelaide St Keighley Joseph
Scaife widower daughter Mary (sic) Ann aged 2 & his mother in law
Sarah Carr widow & retired refreshment house keeper.
Joseph Scaife was the son of Robert & Ellen Scaife licensees of the
Golden Lion in Low Street from 1876 onwards. Joseph died 4 June
Margaret Ann Scaife Jnr married David Burwin of Oakworth in 1886 who was
subsequently named as owner of the Haymarket Hotel 2 January 1891. David
& Margaret Ann Burwin continued as owners of The Haymarket up to its
closure on 21 December 1906. The Burwins were living at Bank House
Oakworth in 1901 with Margaret Ann's Grandmother Sarah Carr
David Burwin died 18 September 1915 leaving £7909.0.11d to Margaret
Ann. Margaret Ann was found dead 10 August 1920 last seen alive 27 July
1920 leaving her estate £5662.3.8d to George Scaife brother of her
father we believe. We don't know when the Burwins sold the property but
it was offered at auction 27 February 1960 at that time in use as a
furniture store. In view of Edward Carr leaving his property to his
daughter while his wife was living is indicative that he & Sarah
were at odds.
A name well known in the town for music. Two sisters married into the
Carrodus family, Elizabeth and Hannah Tiplady. Hannah married John
Carrodus a grocer at 29 High Street and well known in the town for his
abilities on the violin, they had at least seven children. Son Alexander
seems to have had a hard time, he moved with his wife and family to
Bradford and worked there as a wool sorter, but in 1871 he is back in
Keighley in the workhouse. By 1881 he is back in Bradford living in
lodgings without any of his family and is unemployed. One of his
children also named Alexander seems to have resorted to desperate
measures to survive. 2nd of April 1860 he was sentenced to six months
imprisonment for inflicting grievous bodily arm. 19th May 1870 he was sentenced
to 18 months for shop breaking and committing felony within.
John's daughter Hannah married Charles Midgley a boot and
Two of John's daughters Elizabeth and Sarah, became
pregnant out of wedlock. Elizabeth a professor of music, was known to
have a good singing voice, Swire Smith who was also well known for
having a good voice took lessons from Elizabeth.
John's oldest son also called John, a hairdresser, married
Elizabeth Bortoft and they went on to have at least two children. John
Tiplady Carrodus moved to Oldham working as a Letter press printer and
Homoeopathic Practitioner. One of his sons, Harry working as an
John's other son, Thomas Alexander Carrodus
was the father of the man who would become famous. Thomas Alexander
was a hairdresser, music-seller, violinist, leader of the Keighley
Choral Society, and a member of the Halifax Philharmonic Society.
Thomas youngest son Frank was a draper.
The next son Frederic Alexander starts out describing himself as
a hairdresser, but by 1881 he is by trade a musician.
The eldest son John Tiplady Carrodus. Died 13th July 1895
London. The death of John Tiplady Carrodus, the violinist, is recorded.
He was 59 years old. John Tiplady Carrodus was a native of Braithwaite,
near Keighley, in Yorkshire. His first important public appearance was
in Hanover-square Rooms, London, at a concert given by Charles Salomans
in 1849. He was then 18 years old. Subsequently his friends in Bradford
strongly urged his claims to appear at the first Bradford Festival in
1853, and backed by a testimonial obtained from Sopher, he played a
solo. Afterwards he was engaged at the Royal Italian Opera, the Phil
harmonic Concerts, and Mr. (now Sir) Charles Fix this text Halle's
Manchester orchestra. Eventually he became leader of all three of these
societies, and played concertos at the Philharmonic, Crystal Palace, and
other important musical societies. He led the orchestra, Three Choir,
and Leeds Festivals, and published some violin solos and studies. He
leaves several sons, all of whom hold positions of distinction. (Taken
from a newspaper cutting).
chatsworth-house.co.uk William Cavendish, 7th Duke of
known as Lord Cavendish of Keighley between 1831 and 1834 and 2nd Earl
of Burlington of the 2nd creation between 1834 and 1858, was the
great-grandson of the 4th Duke of Devonshire, grandson of the 1st Earl
of Burlington, and son of William Cavendish. Amongst other things
he owned a number of pubs in Keighley. The Duke of Devonshire gave
nine acres of land which became Devonshire Park, on
September 4, 1888. Devonshire Street is on land once owned by the
Joshua Cawood b 1734 in Otley, the son of a nail maker. From records
we have ascertained that in 1786 he was living at Long Lee, Keighley.
His eldest son James married Hannah Clapham, James Cawood was at Stubbing Mill, It became known as Screw
Mill when Cawood, Wright and Binns made screws here, James Cawood left
in 1789 and Rowland Watson became a partner at Greengate. We have not
found the death record for James, but he must have died before 1802,
because his widow Hannah remarries in 1802 James Scholefield. We
suspect he dies before 1798, because in that year we can see that
Hannah Cawood is paying rent to Cavendish.
Eldest son of James and Hannah was Joshua,
married twice and was an Inn Keeper in Keighley before turning to
farming. He was licensee of the Old Sun Inn at Keighley. This was
opposite the Devonshire Arms. Joshua was certainly there in 1810.
In the Lancaster Gazette and General Advertiser, Saturday, May 13,
1815, we found a sad item, On Friday night, a youth of about seven
years of age, the son of Joshua Cawood, Inn Keeper of Keighley,
strayed from his father house about a month prior, and who had been
diligently searched for at enormous cost, was found drowned in a
pond not far from the town.
In the newspaper of Sept 1810 we find an article for the ringing of
the bells, all the ringers seem to be people of note of the town, one
of these is Joshua Cawood on 5th bell, they played a complete peel of
Cambridge Surprise, consisting of 5132 true changes and was preformed
in three hours and two minutes.
Joshua and his first wife, Nanny Sharpe named their eldest son James,
he would have been about 11 when they found his brother Samuel dead in
the pond, he became a butcher, he also seems to have bred prize
winning pigs. His son
Joshua became a teacher and moved away
from Keighley, he was married with a family. March 1837 was a tough
time for James and Sarah, they buried three children in the space of
Joshua and Nanny's youngest
daughter Mary did the same, became a teacher, and she seems to have remained single.
Joshua and Nanny's
daughter Sarah Ann is at Rishworth Hall in 1841, we assume in service,
Fredrik Greenwood is head of household.
Joshua and Mary's second eldest son also called Joshua was Grandfather
to Sarah Barrett who married Inn Keeper William Fowlds. Eldest
daughter Mary married Richard Wilkinson of Long Lee. Their daughter Martha Wilkinson
married William Anderton of Hallas Hall, Cullingworth.
of Joshua and Mary was David Cawood, he emigrated to South Africa,
from the death of an infant child in 1813 we can see that for a short
time he was living in Harden near Bingley, we wonder if he's taken
employment with William Anderton, or if he is
working on his own account in a small way. At his marriage and the
birth of some of his children we note that he states he is a
manufacturer, from one other baptism we have noted his abode as
"Way Bank Hall", we can only assume as was often the case
that this was a small dwelling, such as Gambling Hall at Bocking,
which was a few weavers cottages. We did find mention of him in a
newspaper, The Hull Packet, on Tuesday, February 10, 1801 they report
that Joseph Brooke and Thomas Bottomley robbed David Cawood of
Keighley on the highway at Morton, of five penny pieces and a quantity
of worsted yarn on the 12th of January.
is Jesse Cawood, he married Betty Hartley, we find him in Baines's
Directory and Gazetteer Directory, in 1822 running a school, and in
1828 a book shop. He died in August 1828.
Thomas was another son of
Joshua and Mary, his wife seems to have died at a young age. In 1841
we find him living alone at Duncan Street.
At one time this family owned a great deal of land and property in
Keighley. Henry had lands in Thwaites, his son John born
at Thwaites married in 1694 Martha Holmes, she had previously been
married to William Smith the address at the time of his death in 1690
being Utley Manor House. John and Martha had at least three
children, Holmes, Mary and William.
Mary married Thomas Rishworth of Gillgrange, The Rishworths also
held lands in Thwaites, whether these were held before, or if they
obtained them via the marriage we have not yet ascertained.
William lived in Thwaites and had at least four children.
Holmes born 1699 described as a gentleman farmer with lands at
Heaton married Mary Wright of Clough House, Oakworth. After Holmes died
son John took over.
John's occupation is described as Woolstapler and Manufacture of
John's daughter Sarah married George Greenwood of Moorhouse,
Another daughter, Martha married James Greenwood, Springhead
Mill, Oakworth, cousin of George.
Holmes, son of John married Jane Rishworth. Of their children son
John took up the occupation of Paper merchant along with brothers Thomas
and William, conducting business in Morton near Bingley.
Sister Sarah married John Wright gentleman of Lower Laith.
Brother Holmes born 1793 seems to have had a varied occupation,
first working for his father Holmes Clapham Holmes & Sons, Utley,
Woolstapler, later he is described as a farmer, in 1851 a paper
merchant, no doubt in connection with his brothers. By 1861 he is
farming 70 acres at Utley.
Henry married Martha Blakey, after his death she married
Lodge Calvert. The company Calvert & Clapham was made up of Martha's
son's, Samuel Blakey Clapham, Blakey Calvert, and. Edward Calvert.
Clapham Bros., Ltd., Ironfounders
John Clapham born 1761 at Exley Head, married to Isabel (Tabby) Smith,
their youngest son John was a wheelwright.
John's eldest son Samuel, was married to Grace Newton Sugden. Samuel had
been Mechanic at Messrs Marriners, worsted spinners, of Greengate. John,
son of Samuel and Grace was an Iron and Brass Founder. He married twice,
his second wife was Mary, known as Mrs. James as she was
his son, James Sharp Clapham widow. James Sharp Clapham and Mary
had produced a son, John, an engineer, he was married to Marian,
the daughter of Thomas Wilkinson Weatherhead, Maltster from Bingley.
Joseph, son of Samuel and Grace, was a worsted spinner and Mechanic. We
found an interesting item relating to Joseph, Journal
of the Society for Psychical Research: Volume 2. We, the undersigned,
have just sat at a séance held at 39, Devonshire Street, Keighley [the
residence of Mr. Clapham, one of the witnesses. Dr. Monck was the
medium. By raps we were directed to procure a hammer and tacks, ...
Thomas, also a son of Samuel
and Grace, had the distinction of being the first chairman of Clapham Bros Ltd.
Another son, William, seems, like his brothers to have been a bit of an inventor:
William Clapham, Browfield, Keighley ; son of Samuel Clapham, of
Greengate, Keighley ; born at Keighley, April 28th, 1825 ; educated
privately. Chairman of the Directors of the firm of Clapham Bros., Ltd.,
Ironfounders, of Keighley
Clapham. 10th May 1853 patents applied for and patents granted 1143.
John Clapham, Thomas Clapham, and William Clapham, of Wellington
Foundry, in Keighley, in the County of York, for an invention for-
"Improvements in moulding and casting iron pipes." Letters
MIDGLEY. SUGDEN. Clapham. 31st December 1860. patents applied for and
patents granted 3194. John Midgley, John Sugden, and William Clapham,
all of Keighley, in the County of York, for an invention for-"
Improvements in trombones."
Newton was married twice, his second wife Maria Wilkins was the
step daughter of Inn keeper of the Commercial Inn, Church Green, William Weatherhead
Family owned a number of houses, Grove Mill House, Bracken
John Clough, Ingrow
Mill, was registered in 1891 living at Haincliffe House. Sir John Clough, Born 1836.
Knighted in 1914. Died 03 May 1922 at `Haincliffe'. His wife,
Thamar, and daughter of Prince Smith also born in 1836. died at `Haincliffe'
on 09 March 1909, and so never lived to share his finest hour in
the presence King George V.
At some time William Clough
lived at Knoll, (Knowle)
House, he also ran Grove Mill, Ingrow, owned
by Illingworth rented to John & Robert Clough. later Illingworth sold to Robert Clough, Robert Clough started Grove mills, in 1818 at first as a rental and
then purchased in 1831. Cloughs had Mills in Becks Road (Beck Mills)
and in Coney Lane.
||Photos and additional information
provided by Allan Smith.
The 3rd image is from a note
book, taken from
the Minute Book of Hermit Hole Methodist Chapel, of which Sir
John was a Trustee, the item dated 28th Feb 1914 and mentions a Sunday
School and Chapel, sadly we do not know which one. Names
mentioned are: Ellis Ratcliffe, John Ernshaw and William Joy.
The last part makes reference to Sir John Clough receiving his
Knighthood from King George.
In 1822 John Clough lived
at the mill house.
Percy Clough is registered here in 1913. Percy is also
registered as living at The Knowle. Henry
J.P (Sir John's son) is living at
Holt, Hainworth in
1913. Son of Henry
Smith Clough. Alan, served in the First Bradford Pals Regiment, you
can view his service on the Men
of Worth project
Robert Clough lived at Woodworth
House, Halifax Road.
Information from Allan Smith: Dates of Henry and Elizabeth
Clough of 'Red Holt'. 1. Henry Smith Clough. Born 08 May 1863,
'Bracken Bank'. Died Duke of York Home, Bradford, 04 September 1948.
Cremated 07 September 1948, Scholemoor, Bradford. 2. Elizabeth Ambler.
Born 08 October 1866, 3 Oak Terrace, Manningham, Bradford. Died 17
January 1949, 'Red Holt'. Cremated 21 January 1949, also at Scholemoor. Elizabeth Ambler
was the daughter of Jeremiah Ambler who built British Mohair Spinners,
Midland Mills, Bradford covering two acre of land.
The 'Wilkinson' connection comes in through the marriage of this
William Weatherhead and Betty Wilkinson on Tuesday 20 April 1802 at
Keighley Parish Church. The William Weatherhead who became Mayor of
Keighley three times in succession between 1887 and 1890 is a
descendant of this family. She recalled that as children, Betty and
herself were called in from the garden at 'Red Holt', were given clean
white aprons, told to take their shoes off, and taken into the lounge
with family and servants to hear the first radio in Keighley. She said
that they were made to sit on a settee, and she was so young that her
legs wouldn't touch the floor. And that one day, in the garden, they
discovered a bird on it's nest. A man could be seen approaching, so
they indicated to him to 'shhhhhh'. He came and peeped, and on seeing
the gardener coming, told him to do the same. The man was very well
dressed and took much interest, and all four of them stood and saw the
bird on its nest. Only later did my mother realise that the man she'd
told to 'shhhhhh' was Sir John Clough.
She told me that Sir John had a reputation for being a kindly man, and
in spite of his station as a manufacturer, magistrate and a hard
fighter for the Liberal cause, had a happy knack of surprising people
with his disarming humility.
I remember going to 'Red Holt', carol singing with Wesley Place Choir
for the National Children's Home. 'Miss Hester' and 'Mr. Philip' would
stand in the hall and listen, then Philip would put his hand in his
back pocket, and do the necessary. It was the same at 'The Knowle'
with 'Mr. Percy', and he would do likewise, and then pass a box of
chocolates round. And so it was perhaps fitting that my parents went
to live at 'Red Holt' in their latter years. Even my father had a
connection. His mother and her sister, Effie and Rachael Whiteoak were
laundresses to the Cloughs of `Haincliffe,' and when their father died
in 1898, the Cloughs sent their condolences, but emphasised that they
still wanted their laundry on time!!
Another Branch of the family was Sam & Sir Robert Clough. Sam Clough was living
at Steeton Hall in 1911, he had
Clough's Mill at Steeton. Sir
Robert was originally in The Colonial Combing Company,
Dalton Lane. Then he went to the Keighley Gas and Oil Engine Company,
Dalton Lane. He went bankrupt (and had to resign his seat in
Parliament) He had to leave Oakworth Court, Station Road, Oakworth. -
he also used to live at Yew Bank, Skipton Road. His eldest son was
killed cycling on Skipton Road. he went to live at Greenbank,
Greenhead Lane. He was a mayor of Keighley and first
Conservative M.P. for Keighley 1918 - 1922. and had Clough's Mill at
Steeton. Sam's daughter Dorothy was prominent in the Girl Guides a movement with which she worked all
her life. For more information of the Cloughs at Sutton www.smithharper.org pdf. See page 51 to 53.
Best known for her involvement in the Girl Guides, Steeton Hall a
regular venue for camping badges and other Guiding events.
b = born bp = baptised m = married d =
died Kly = Keighley Kwk = Kildwick d/o = daughter of
|1. John CLOUGH
of White Hill, Keighley Parish (b. c1567) m. Alice WRIGHT of
Slippery Ford, 11Dec1592, Kly.
|2. John CLOUGH
of Knowl Top, Sutton Brow, yeoman (bp.06Feb1596, Kly) m.
Ellen, 1630, d/o William PIGHILLS of Lawnde-in Stairs, Haworth
CLOUGH (bp.15Aug1641, Kwk), bought (with his brother,
William), the Valley and Knowl Top, 11Feb1674, from John BRIGG
of Oxenhope and his mother, Grace, widow of John BRIGG snr. of
Oxenhope. This Robert CLOUGH m. Elizabeth, d/o William &
Jane NETHERWOOD of Sutton-in-Craven on 06Aug 1672 at Kwk.
Elizabeth was bp.03Oct1647, Kwk & died 1726.
CLOUGH of Cononley (bp.09Jul1676, Kwk). Sold for £272-2s,
his farm on Sutton Brow to David BRIGG of Calversyke Hill and
Judith BRIGG of Laycock, widow and Trustee of Thomas BRIGG of
Guard House, yeoman. This William CLOUGH m. Martha
(bp.17Jul1682, Kwk, d/o William & Sarah LISTER) on
Richard HATTERSLEY (b.1705, Ecclesfield, Sheffield -
d.1742) m. Elizabeth RYLES, 31Dec 1733,
Ecclesfield. She was born 1712, Ecclesfield).
CLOUGH of Sutton-in-Craven (b.30Oct1716 - d.29Mar1801).
Inherited Valley and Knowl Top from his uncle. m. for his 1st
wife Ann CRAGG of Steeton, widow, at Kwk, 04Sep1739. They
sold, 27Feb1741, to Thomas GARFORTH of Steeton, a cottage and
garden there for £13-4s, and two closes at Sutton called
Jackey and Snegill, containing six days work.
Jonathan HATTERSLEY (b.1739, Ecclesfield) m. Mary
PARKIN, 25Nov1760, Ecclesfield. She was born 1741, Ecclesfield
CLOUGH of Bent (bp.03May1752, Kwk - d.18Jan1833 aged 80),
which he purchased, 22Dec1798, from the Rev. Stephen BARRTET,
rector of Hatfield, Kent. m. Jane LEACH of Silsden Moor,
16May1780, Kwk). She died 05Apr1828 aged 75.
Richard HATTERSLEY (b.24Sep1761, Ecclesfield.
d.19Jul1829, Keighley. Int. Kly Parish Church). m.
11Apr1784, Sheffield Cathedral, Charlotte (b.04Oct1763,
Sheffield - d.31Dec1842, Kly) d/o Samuel & Hepzibah
LONGDON, nee HOLDSWORTH.
CLOUGH of Steeton (b.1791, Sutton-in-Craven. bp.17Jun1791,
Kwk. d.25Jan1872 aged 80. int.Kly Parish Church). Founded the
business at Ingrow. m. Jane PEARSON, 06 May1825, Kwk. She died
07Mar1854, Ingow House. int. Kly Parish Church.
George HATTERSLEY (b.1789, Sheffield - d.09Feb1869, Kly)
m. Elizabeth MITCHELL, 10Jan1820, Kly. She was born 1792, d/o
John & Sarah MITCHELL of Eastwood Sq., Kly. Died
02Oct1835, Kly. Int. Kly Parish Church.
CLOUGH of 'The Shroggs', Steeton. (bp.19Aug1827, Kly) d.
1911. m. Hannah DAWSON who was b.1831.
Richard Longdon HATTERSLEY (bp.21Jan1821, Kly).
m. Ann SMITH, 1846, Kly). She was born 1840.
CLOUGH (b.1864, Steeton. d.1935). m. Martha Mitchell
HATTERSLEY, 1901, Kly.)
Martha Mitchell HATTERSLEY (b.1862, Kly - m. Samuel
CLOUGH,1891, Kly). He was born 1864, Steeton - d.1935).
Hattersley CLOUGH of Steeton Hall. b.16Mar1900.
Dorothy Hattersley COUGH of Steeton Hall.
b.16Mar1900. Died 1981.
|It is interesting
to note, working down the family tree from the top, that
Dorothy Clough is of the same generation as Henry Smith Clough
of Ingrow, even though she was the same age as Henry's
daughter, Hester Mary, to within only two days! And the two
families are not as closely related as one would imagine. In
spite of the common bonds of Steeton and textiles, both
Dorothy and the aforesaid Henry Clough would have to go back
to their great great grandparents, John Clough and Jane
Leach, before they found a common ancestor. Apparently,
Dorothy Clough had an older brother, Edwin, who died in
infancy, and I believe there were others who came on after
her, from whom there are descendants.
Sarah Eliza Clough,
daughter of John and Jane Person m William Haggas in 1853
William Clough son of Thomas
and Hannah Dawson married Louisa Clapham, daughter of William of the
Robert Clough son of John and Nancy
Weatherhead married Susannah, daughter of Prince Smith. Roberts
brother John also married a daughter of Prince Smith, Thamer Smith.
Fanny Clough daughter of
Robert and Ann Howett married Thomas Waterworth Solicitor.
Elizabeth Clough daughter of
Robert and Ann Howett married Joseph Smith reed maker of Beechcliffe
Hilda Emma Clough daughter of
John and Thamer Smith, married John Waterworth Solicitor, (grandson of
Thomas Waterworth Solicitor).
Jane Clough married Edward
George Spencer of Malsis Hall.
Charlotte Ross Clough daughter
of Percy Clough married Geoffrey Haggas son of James Ellison Haggas.
Emma Lund Clough daughter of Robert and Mary Lund of Grove Mill
married James Midgley Hattersley son of George.
Thomas Corlass born in 1755 built Hope Mill in the late 1700's
for cotton, Hodgson tell's us that in 1805 he faired so badly and could
carry the burden no longer he went and had the boiler raked out and gave
up. He had been in partnership with son William. William had been
born in 1784 at Barrowford. William was also involved at Greengate mill,
Built by John Craven of Guardhouse 1791 on land bought from the Crown
which had once belonged to Joseph Stell. John died in 1808 and he left
the mill to his daughter and her husband William Corlass of Barrowford.
He moved to Reediford where he not only took a mill but became part of
the Nelson Circuit, He commenced a class at Reedyford, and another at
Barrowford, and for years sustained the office of local preacher.
William's sons Thomas and John took on Hope Mill and rebuilt it, it was
later taken over by John Feather. Williams other son Joseph was manager
at a mill, we do not know if this was Hope Mill, but we do know that
unlike his brothers he stayed in Keighley and became a joiner.
Thomas Corlass born 1715 and father of the above Thomas who built Hope
Mill was an Inn keeper on Church Green. One of Thomas's other sons was
John, and his son John would also be an Inn keeper and a joiner. John's
other son Robert would become a butcher. Thomas the Inn keeper born 1715
had a son by the name of George who lived at Hope Street and was a
We have been able to take the Cowling family back to John Cowling born
1672, he was married to Isabella Hird of Utley. Their daughter Ann
married Hugh Flesher, and it was their daughter Agnes who married William Marriner.
Ann's brother, Joshua Cowling married Mary Coates, who's great, great
grandfather was John Leach of Riddlesden Hall.
Joshua Cowling was the grandson of Joshua and Mary. He was born in 1759
at Well House, near Silsden. He came to Keighley and set up
manufacturing stuff pieces, starting at Laycock, then to Well Head near
Harehills, next he built a house and warehouse in Wellington Street, and
then moved to Braithewaite. A story that Hodgson relates to us in his
book is that he would travel on his cob with a drawboy piece attached
behind the saddle in order to avoid paying the full duty and only
paying the duty of of a trades man, so instead of paying a guinea he
paid only ten shillings and sixpence per year.
Joshua's uncle, Samuel Cowling, also married a Leach, he married Ann (Nancy) Leach,
the granddaughter of David Leach of Riddlesden Hall.
There were two prominent Craven families in the area.
Craven's of Oakworth:
Hiram Craven of Dockroyd. Builder of roads, mills, bridges and
houses, He built the turn pike from Hebden Bridge over Cockhill Moor
to Keighley. He was married to Alice Calvert, sister of Lodge Calvert,
Their children, John
married Frances Nowell, Known as John one eyed Craven, he worked on
the Union Canal.
Abraham architect in York where he died of Cholera, married
Martha married William Sugden.
Hiram married Ann Iveson, daughter of Thomas Howgill Iveson,
Worsted Spinner of Greengate. Hiram lived at Ebor
House, Haworth. Hiram Craven went into partnership at Higher
Providence Mill with William Sugden. Hiram Craven sold Ebor
Mill, Haworth to Edwin Merrall.
Edward, married Mary Willans, the only daughter
of Joseph Nowell, brother of Frances Nowell married to John Craven. Edward Craven was killed shortly after his marriage
on works at Whitby.
Alice married John Taylor of the Manor House, Stanbury.
Hiram the elder had a brother William who married one of the
Greenwood daughters, we have not yet ascertained which one. This branch
of the Craven family do not seemed to have faired just has well in
trade or marriage.
Janet daughter of John and Frances Nowell married James Lund of
the Knowle, Keighley then later Malsis Hall.
Alice John and Frances Nowell married Thomas Brigg Laycock,
Worsted Spinner & Manufacturer.
Craven's of Keighley
Robert Craven. Roberts widow married Thomas Briggs
from Gaurdhouse in 1674.
Joseph Craven, who desended from the Craven's of Steeton, died 1751
he was a
yeoman weaver from Guardhouse, employed weavers and turned out
an average of 84 pieces of cloth per year between 1740 and 1745.
Joseph was the grandfather of John Craven of Walk mill who died 1831. Joseph was the great great grandfather of the J. & J. Craven of
Low mill, Walk mill and Dalton Mill.
John Craven operated Greengate and Walk Mill and married widow of Thomas
Brigg Mary Clapham in 1771. John Craven died 9th Jan 1808 at his residence
at Walk Mill. Before his marriage it is believed that he lived in Steeton
but then moved to Guard House. He bought a large part of Stells
estate after Stell's downfall. He bought Walk Mill. In 1783 he went
into partnership with his stepson Thomas Brigg & Abraham
Shackleton. They ran a cotton spinning business at Walk mill, Stell
Mill and in the top rooms over Joseph Hartley's. He is also registered at
Sarah Craven daughter of John and Mary Brigg nee Clapham married
William Corlass, Wesleyan Methodist of Hope and Greengate Mill and
later of Reediford, Colne 1804. Corlass would acquire the mill via his
John Craven of Walk Mill married Elizabeth
Rishworth descendant of the Rushworth's of Thwaites about 1802.
Mary married grocer John Laycock, the children of this pair did
not fair as well as their cousins, and we cannot help wondering how
their second youngest son John Laycock felt in 1871, a widower living
in Aireworth St with four of his nine children and working as a
railway porter while his cousins in the Craven branch of the family
were living in grand houses like Guard House, Park House, Steeton,
Walk Mill and Strong Close.
Joseph Craven of Park House, Steeton, married the widow Mary
Barlow nee Wright 1833. Park House, was built in 1630 with
additions made in 1685 and 1693, where Mrs. S.
Wrathall was a valued member of the household staff rawbw.com
there was also another farm at Brow End near Laycock which in 1674
belonged to the family. Joseph Craven son of John built Strong
Close House, Keighley. in 1864.
John son of John, Stuff manufacturer of Low Mill and Broom House,
married Mary Jane Brigg daughter of John and Margaret Ann Marriner
John Henry of Strong Close and later Beeches House, son of Joseph
Henry and Elizabeth Spencer married Hester Wilson Spencer of Raygill
Hall, Lothersdale 1882. In 1906 Nan, wife of
John Henry Craven of the Beeches,
was one of Keighley’s first woman drivers on the roads.
Mary Elizabeth Craven daughter of Joseph Henry Craven and
Elizabeth Spencer married John Wilson Spencer of Raygill Limestone
4th Jan 1889 Death of William Young Craven brother of
Joseph Henry and son of the late John Craven, of Keighley, at his residence at York. He was interred at
Currers of Kildwick, Gawthorpe, and
stowell.org.nz - Kildwick Hall-Holling Hall (Ilkley) - Marley Hall.
was named in the Will of Silvester
1652 Sir Thomas Hartop and son William sell Friars Head to Henry
Currer of Gawthorpe in Bingley for £2400.
Henry Currer of Bolling Hall, (cousin of Henry Currer of Marley)
youngest daughter Elizabeth, married Nicholas Walker, of Gawthorpe
The Currer family had connections with Kildwick since at least the
16th century. Haworth Currer (1690-1744) had two children: Henry died
without issue in 1756 leaving his sister, Sarah Currer, as the
heiress. Haworth Currer's sister, Dorothy, was the second wife of
Richard Richardson of Bierley and their son was John Richardson of
Kildwick (1721-June 1784), who assumed the name of Currer to succeed to
the estates left him by the will of his cousin Sarah Currer, that is,
the seat at Kildwick and all her estates. The estates then passed to
John's nephew Henry Richardson Currer (1758-Nov 1784) who had taken
the name of Currer just prior to his own death, to inherit. The last's
daughter and sole heiress was Frances Mary Richardson Currer
(1785-1861), a remarkable and scholarly woman, who amassed a large and
important library in her later home, Eshton Hall.
The Rev Henry Richardson took the name of Currer shortly before his
death in 1784, on succeeding to the estates of Sarah Currer, after the
death of his uncle, John Currer. His widow, nee Margaret Clive Wilson,
then married her cousin, Mathew Wilson of Eshton Hall. Richardson's
daughter and sole heiress was Frances Mary Richardson Currer
Ann the daughter of William Currer and Ann Stokoe married
Rawdon Briggs, they had a son also called Rawdon and he married
Matilda Greenwood, the daughter of John of the Knowl, Keighley.
Jonas Ellison Inn keeper Crown Inn, Church Street, son John
follows in fathers footsteps. John had at least nine children. Martha
married Scotsman and tap man of the Crown Tap, Church Street David Murray.
Ann married Excise officer Thomas Fulton. Frances married James Smith machine
maker of Threaproyd. Son Jonas also an Inn Keeper at Market Place Tavern.
Jonas daughter Sarah Elizabeth Ellison married Inn Keeper of the Lord
Rodney and a Chemist, George Falshaw. Jonas brother John took over his
father Jonas place at the Crown Inn, Church Street.
They were most certainly family of note, not only rich but
complex, and married into other wealthy families,
Busfeild and Currer seem to have been favorites.
Hugh Currer, esq. of Kildwick, born 1608, married Blanch,
daughter of Thomas Ferrand, esq. of Carleton.
Benjamin Ferrand married Anne Currer
before marrying Sarah Dobson.
Born: 18th May 1730 Died: 20th October 1803 Son of: Benjamin Ferrand
and Sarah Dobson. owning
land at St. Ives, and Lord of the Manor of Oakworth, Cottingley,
Crossley and Allerton cum Wilsden
Eleanor Ferrand was Thomas Maud first wife.
Mary Ferrand married Henry Currer.
Richardson Ferrand married Mary Busfeild.
Robert Ferrand married Ann Currer, she was the widow of William Busfeild.
Sarah Ferrand married Currer Fothergill Busfeild
Thomas Ferrand married Blanch Townley of Royle Hall near Burnley.
Walker Ferrand married Katherine Maria Twiss daughter of General
William Twiss, Katherine was Walker Ferrand's cousin.
Frances Ferrand the daughter of Edward of St Ives married Sir Richard
Paul Amphlett, barrister and Conservative politician who sat in the
House of Commons from 1868 to 1874. National
A considerable portion of the township
of Bingley belonged to the Ferrand family, whose ancestor came over to
England with William the Conqueror, and whose descendants have ever
since continued at this place. The living is a discharged vicarage,
valued in the king's books at £7. 6. 8., and in the patronage of the
Crown; impropriator, the Rev. W. Penny: the great tithes have been
commuted for £410, and the small for £300. The church is a spacious
and venerable structure with a square embattled tower, in the later
English style, and, having suffered much dilapidation, was restored in
the reign of Henry VIII.; it contains several monuments to the Ferrand
and Busfield families. Two church districts, named respectively.
Morton and Cullingworth, have been endowed by the Ecclesiastical
Commissioners: each of the livings is in the gift of the Crown and the
Bishop of Ripon, alternately. There are places of worship for
Baptists, Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans. The free
grammar school was founded in the reign of Henry VIII., and endowed
with land and tenements producing at present £260 per annum, subject
to certain payments to the poor: the premises comprise a large
schoolroom, and a house and garden for the master. Mrs. Sarah Rhodes,
in 1784, gave five cottages, which she endowed as almshouses for five
aged widows, who receive £3 per annum each. Thomas Busfeild, Esq., in
1767, bequeathed the interest on £800; and there are also several
bequests for distribution in bread and clothes among the poor, and for
other charitable uses. John Nicholson, the Airedale poet, was buried
here in May, 1843. From: 'Bilton - Binton', A Topographical Dictionary
of England (1848), pp. 244-248. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50800
Fieldhouse, Samuel Son
in Law of B Briggs vicnet.net.au
William Fox corn miller of Mill bridge and his wife Margaret Stell,
nee Emmott produced a number of children. Daughter Martha married William Walbank
Stuff manufacture. Martha died shortly after the birth of their son
John. Son James Fox was a hatter. Oldest son William Fox and his wife Betty (Elizabeth) Hindle
produced at least eight children. Margaret Emmot Fox was Thomas Paget
first wife, he was a farmer at Hawkcliffe. Son of William and Betty, William
was landlord of the Kings Arms Haworth and the Lord Rodney in
Keighley. He was married to Harriet Spence, who after his death she
married Abraham Shackleton who continued with his wife at the pub. William and Harriet's eldest son Joseph,
for a while he was a Confectioner on High Street, but in 1858 went to Victoria, Australia
to seek his fortune at the gold digging, taking his wife and child
with him, he died there 17 May 1860.
George Spence Fox son of William and Harriet was for a while a fish
dealer, but later tuned his hand to Inn Keeping at the Bay Horse Pub,
Manchester. Youngest son John was a Tobacconist on Church
Margaret Fox daughter of James the Hatter and Grace Smith
married John Booth cotton spinner of Castle Mill, Becks Road.
The Greenwoods descend from the same family, although later
people would distinguish the two by referring to them as the Keighley
or Haworth Greenwoods. To enable us to complete our research we used a
book produced by Robin Greenwood along side our own research. We are
not attempting to produce a family tree, but to show how the marriages
assisted in their progress.
At some point John Greenwood came to Haworth from Wadsworth and
of his children three would play a prominent part in the industry of
Eldest son John made a good start by marrying Elizabeth Taylor
the daughter of a prominent Stanbury family. Their son also called John
married well, his wife was Ann Heaton who also happened to be his
James the son of John and Ann Heaton married Martha Clapham
daughter of John of Utley, Manufacture of Stuff Pieces. Their daughter
Mary Ann would marry William Sugden of Fleece Mills and
Another daughter Judith married Samuel Blakey Clapham of
William son of John and Elizabeth, his descendants would not
fair too well, one grandson Robert, who would end up running a pub at
Stubbin House, Haworth.
James son of John and Elizabeth, like his brother John, James
would fair very well in the world of textiles. One of his daughters Elizabeth
married well, Abraham Shackleton of Walk and Brow End Mill's.
Son John born July 6, 1780, died March 10
married Ann Barwick, who died June 1810, aged 70.
One of the earliest Cotton Spinners in Keighley, it turned to worsteds slightly later and John Greenwood was one of its
pioneers. He started at North Brook, and afterwards Cabbage Mills
and Vale Mills and was to be involved with five
mills in the Keighley and one at Ripon. He was one of the first
to use children in cotton factories, importing young orphan girls from
in London. On the credit side he was a leader of the improvement
committee that brought Keighley water and gas and he subscribed
heavily to the founding of the Keighley Mechanics Institute and
maintained at his works a private fire engine which could be borrowed
for the town. We have found a reference in a book which says "John Greenwood lived at Damside at the
house which was to become the Royal Hotel".
In 1782 John Greenwood
is registered as having North Brook Mill, which would later be taken over by
Hattersleys. We have also found references that say he lived at and
built Cabbage House He also built Knoll
(Knowle) House for his son John Greenwood Junior, having
first bought a field called Rawling Close from James Lund of Lower
Bracken Bank. He later moved to West
Riddlesden Hall John Greenwood, in partnership
with William Ellis bought Wreaks
Mill, at Birstwith. St. James’s Church Birstwith harrogate.co.uk
December 1807 John Greenwood and Lister
Ellis bought Airton mill in Airton from William Ellis,
Greenwood was one of many that took rooms at Airworth Mills before
going to Cabbage Croft mill.
John Greenwood Junior born Sep
8 1763; died Oct. 11. 1846. left his real estate in Keighley,
Bingley, Bradford and other places to his son Frederick Greenwood. John
Greenwood & Sons Greenwood also built Vale mill at Oakworth. John Greenwood of Eastwood House was
married to Mary Sugden daughter of William. Sugden, Esq.
John Greenwood Junior was the father in Law of Rev Theodore Dury, it
was Dury's second marriage.
Hainworth was in the possession of Samuel Sunderland,
Esq., and was purchased off the heirs of the late Sir George Cook,
Bart., by John Greenwood, Esq., of Knoll, near Keighley; and it now
belongs to his son, Frederick Greenwood, Esq., of Norton Conyers. John
Greenwood was principal proprietor of the village of
Hainworth. The Greenwood property at Hainworth would be later sold, we
have transcribed some of the land and properties from the newspaper
advertisement of 1873
John and Frederick Greenwood owned the Mason's Arms when it stood at
the corner of Hanover Street and Low Street back in the 1820s they
wished to build a new hotel next door on Hanover Street. This became
the Wellington Hotel, which remained in business until about 1989,
when it was closed.
Frederick Greenwood lived at Ryshworth Hall. his father John
bought West Riddlesden Hall estate from the late Thomas Leach and was
occupied by Mr. John B. Sidgwick, son-in-law of John Greenwood.
St. Luke's Church Morton Frederick was the great benefactor of the
Parish and it was through his generous help and that of other friends
that the churches at Morton and Riddlesden were built. Mr Greenwood
gave the land in Morton for the building of the church.
Edwin Greenwood, Esq., Knoll, Keighley. Edwin is the brother of
Frederick. Edwin took over the mill at Swarcliffe started by his
father in 1805 and had Swarcliffe Hall rebuilt to a design by Major
Rohde Hawkins in 1848
Taken from Haworth Past and Present: Oxenhope mesne manor has
been in the possession of the Greenwood family many years, but it
seems to have been divided into several parts in the seventeenth
century. Mr. lames says: "From a conveyance of Thornton Manor,
about 1700, I perceive that four shillings yearly was payable out of
Oxenhope to Thornton Manor. How this payment arose I have no
knowledge." Mr. J. C. Brook, in 1777, says in his MSS., Herald's
College: "Charles Wood, Esq., of Bowling Hall, informs me that
the Manor of Oxenhope is divided into five parts, of which he has one,
Abraham Bauine, of Bradford, another, and the three heiresses of
Copley, of Batley, the other three." The whole of the manor
vested, by purchase, in the late Joseph Greenwood, Esq., of
Springhead, and is now the property of Captain Edwards, though there
are many estates here held by other families, as the Rushworths, Binns,
Horsfalls, Kershaws, Emmotts, Greenwoods, &c.
Greenwoods owned houses in Bridgehouse, attached to Bridgehouse
Mill first built around seventeenth century with alterations
mid-eighteenth century, Springhead at the foot of Lord Lane bought for
Joseph in the early 1800's, and Woodlands built by John and James
Brighouse 1784–1833. Rev. Moses Saunders married Martha
Greenwood, of the Bridge House family, he was the first minister at Hall
Green Baptist Church.
James Greenwood (senoir) Spring Head Mill died 1824
John Greenwood eldest son of James died 1833
Joseph Greenwood (1786–1856) was the second son of
James Greenwood Sr of Bridgehouse, who acquired, or perhaps was given,
Springhead Mill when quite young. Lord of
the Manor of Oxenhope. In 1834 Joseph Greenwood purchased the Manor of
Oxenhope from the Earl of Wilton. The manorial rights passed from
Joseph Greenwood, Esq., of Spring Head, to Captain Edwards, by
purchase. In 1853 he and his sons went
bankrupt, and he moved to Utley. COURT FOR RELIEF OF INSOLVENT
DEBTORS. Saturday the 8th day of April, 1854. ASSIGNEES have been
appointed in the following Cases. Further particulars may be learned
at the Office, in Portugal-Street, Lincoln's- Inn-Fields, on giving
the number of the Case. James Greenwood, late of Springhead,
near Keighley, Yorkshire, out of business, Insolvent, No. 77,451 C;
John Appleyard and John Sutcliffe, Assignees. William Cockcroft
Greenwood, late of Springhead, Keighley, Yorkshire, Farmer,
Insolvent, No. 77,454 C; John Appleyard and John Sutcliffe, Assignees.
Joseph was married to Grace Cockroft he was also a Magistrate 1822. He
was also a close friend of Patrick Brontë. He also had
three daughters exactly the same ages as Charlotte, Emily, and Anne
and the girls were friends and he also had two eligible sons, William
and James, several years older than the girls.
James Greenwood Jr youngest
son of James 1793–1857.
Haworth Born 13th April 1800, Died 29th Oct. 1893
Betty (Elizabeth) Greenwood the great grand daughter of the original
John married into a well known Keighley family, William Thomas Blakey.
George Greenwood of Moorhouse, Oxenhope married Sarah Clapham,
daughter of John of Utley, Manufacture of Stuff Pieces.
Her sister Martha having married James Greenwood, James and George
John Broadley Greenwood was married twice, first wife was Elizabeth Anderton
of Kildwick Hall.
Matilda Greenwood 2nd great grand daughter of the original John
married landed proprietor and magistrate of Birstwith Hall, Birstwith
and later Low Hall, Birstwith, Rawdon Briggs.
Sarah Hannah Greenwood 2nd great grand daughter of the original
John married John Benson Sedgwick cotton spinner and manufacturer.
janets-families.org.uk Ellis Hall (Hall family of Airedale and Craven) Two
Torches at Keighley
Dorothy daughter of Jonas
Haggas in 1716 married William Blakey of Bracken Bank, he was the
grandfather of Samuel who would build Aireworth Mill.
There is a record of a Haggas living at Oakworth Hall 1715 yet in John Hodgsons
book he tells us that James lived at Weethead and bought Oakworth
Hall in 1742.
Elizabeth married Jonas Blakey the son of William and Dorothy
James Hagges was the son of an Halifax shoemaker
by the name of Jonas.
Jamas Haggas of
Oakworth Hall bound as an apprentice to a Halifax weaver John Jackson.
Jamas Haggas died 1778. He was succeeded by his son also called James. He
bought long wool in Lincolnshire and sorted wool with his son at
Oakworth Hall. It is quite possible that James the elder and
Dorothy are brother and sister.
James Haggas b 1732 Oakworth Hall married twice, first to Martha
Ellison they had at least four children, three boys William, James
and John and daughter Betty. James died in 1834, William and John
went on the great success in the textile industry. James had married
Nanny Town, William married Elizabeth (Betty) Redman and John
married Betty Slater.
Betty daughter of William and Elizabeth Redman married
manufacturer Moses Hey the son
Martha daughter of William and Elizabeth Redmen married Charles
Iveson the son of Thomas Howgill Iveson.
Anne Eliza daughter of William
and Sarah Clough married in 1886 worsted spinner William Whitley Vint.
After Anne Eliza's death he married her sister Sarah Jane. Late in the
1800's William moved into the Haggas family home Broom Hill.
James Ellison J.P of Woodville, Keighley son of James and Ann
Moorhouse married in 1897 Marie Constance Wall daughter of Ernest Wall
Yarn merchant of Bradford.
Geoffrey son of James Ellison and Marie Constance Wall married
Charlotte Ross Clough daughter of Percy Clough.
William son of James and Ann Moorhouse married in 1853 Sarah
Eliza Clough daughter of John and Jane Pearson of Grove Mill.
Mary daughter of James and
Ann Moorhouse married in 1866
wool merchant of Bradford Michael Joseph Mahony.
John son of James and
Ann Moorhouse married in 1856
Elizabeth Clough daughter of John and Nancy Weatherhead. Nancy's
father William was an Inn Keeper in Keighley.
Emma Louisa daughter of John and Elizabeth Clough married paper
manufacturer John James Wright.
Helen Amelia daughter of John and Elizabeth Clough married Thomas
Brigg son of John and Mary Anderton.
Herbert son of John and Elizabeth Clough married 1886 Emily
Hattersley daughter of Richard Longdon Hattersley managing director
for Messrs Hattersley & Sons, loom makers, of North Beck works,
and also director of Messrs Hattersley & Co Ltd.
Island Passenger Arrivals : American Family Immigration History Center
In 1913 Oakworth Hall was sold by the Trustees of
the Hattersly family who sold the Hall to Benjamin, William and John
rootsweb.com used to live in the house which now forms part of Oakbank School.
John Haggas architect, was the
son of Shelah Haggas spindle maker, who in 1861 was employing ten men
and living at Prospect Place. John was responsible amongst others for the plans of:
Houses called Gables off North Dean Road. Haincliffe House. Part of
Knowle Spring Brewery. Devonshire Mill. His son's would later join him
and he traded as John Haggas and Sons. There appears to be no
connection between this Haggas family and the mill owning Haggas's.
Son John was married to Agnes Mary Pawson, the granddaughter of George E Pawson
The odd numbered side of
Church Green is called Hattersley Crescent.
George Hattersley is living at Mill Hill.
Smith invented Centre weft fork motions for looms for
March 4 The death of J.M. Hattersley aged 70 the 2nd son of the
late George Hattersley of North Brook Works
The Heaton's are best known for living and building Ponden Hall.
Michael Heaton married Ann Scarborough of Glusburn Hall, she was connected
to the Maude family and her uncle Roger Nowell of Read Hall was
responsible for bringing the Pendle Witches to trial. Ann's sister
Mary married first Robert Parker who owned vast amount of lands. After
his death she married Thomas Barcroft of Barcroft Hall, Cliviger.
Michael Heaton's brother, Peter, married Mary Midgley, who was no doubt
related to the Midgleys who were Lord of the Manor, she was also Great
Granddaughter of Robert Heaton 1587-1640. The Heaton's of Haworth and
Keighley married into well known families. Ann to John Greenwood of
Bridgehouse in 1747, they were third cousins. Another Ann married
Richard Greenwood of Lees farm. Elizabeth married in 1703 Robert Hall
of Newsholme. Hugh married Mary Haggas. Martha of Dalemoor married Jonas Barraclough,
and from this pair the Clockies of Dollymoor descend. Susanna married
1683 the Lord of the manor George Taylor. Another Susannah Great grand
daughter of Michael Heaton of Ponden in 1768 married George Greenwood
of Moorhouse, dieing in the first year of marriage, possibly in child
birth, she was his second wife.
Aaron Hey lived and held a mill at Greengate, dieing in 1800. The mill he left in his
will to Thomas Iveson, his son-in-law. Son Moses, Manufacturer, had
married Betty Haggas, the daughter of William, Worsted Manufacture. Aaron Hey
junior, Worsted Manufacture, his daughter Hannah Hey, married Joseph Skaife
a corn miller. Hannah Hey was the sister of Rosamond Hey who had married
Thomas Howgill Iveson.
Hannah married George Park, who for a while had been in partnership with
the above mentioned Joseph Skaife at Ingrow Corn Mill until the
partnership was dissolved in 1851. George
and Hannah Park produced no children, in his will he treats his wife's
Hird Click here
to see the Hird family of Croft house.
Thomas Hird The
Hird family had lived in Braithwaite for many generations and are
reputedly direct descendants of the de Braythwayts. John Hird, who
died in 1598/9 is described in parish records as a ‘clothier of
Braithwaite’, as is his son Christopher (1574-1623). Christopher’s
grandson Thomas (b. 1692) is described as a ‘stuffweaver of
Braithwaite’. The Hird family is an example of ‘yeoman
weavers’. Their relatively substantial wealth financed the
construction of Manor House in
1648, which was much larger and more ornate than many other houses in
the area and is probably the oldest building in Braithwaite. The
misleading name of the House is likely to be a reference to the Manor
of Keighley which had granted the family freeholder status some
centuries before. According to Cardwell (1997), between six and ten of
the farm owning families in and around Braithwaite were a close-knit
community of first generation Quakers, including John Hird, who’s
Manor House was used as a meeting house from its construction and well
into the eighteenth century. Hird, Thomas Brigg another yeoman weaver of nearby Guardhouse, were apprehended in
Keighley in 1682 along with others because of their Quaker beliefs and
refusal to pay tithes to Keighley Parish Church. They were imprisoned
in York Castle for four months and had possessions ceased in lieu of
The Toleration Act of 1689 meant Quakers were free to worship
as they wished. genealogy.com
He invented a Lucifer match but refused to patent the invention. In
1847, he worked with Samuel Cunliffe Lister, with whom he obtained a
patent for his square motion wool-combing machine and a new method of
carding, combing and preparing genappe yarns. Lived at Holden
Hall, Oakworth. Isaac's second wife was Sarah Sugden, her
brother Jonas was a Methodist local preacher. Three of her brothers,
John, Robert Newsholme, and James were in partnership as Worsted
Spinners and Manufacturers, under the name of Jonas Sugden and
James senior born in Bingley had at least six children, he had
worked as a weaver, woolcomber and overlooker, his sons would become
well known in the textile industry. James senior would see out his old
age living at 27 Victoria Terrace.
Ira was the eldest son. Ira Ickeringill went on to become Mayor
of Keighley 1890-93 and lived at Laurel Mount, Keighley.
James who lived at Balcony House and had the Mission Hall,
Oakworth Road built at a cost of £14,000. James also created
local Boys & Girls Brigades and Ickringill's Brass Band (Keighley).
Ira and James, took on Legrams spinning mill in Bradford in
1860, in 1913 they are registered running Eastwood Mill.
April 15 1893 Ira Ickeringill and Co issued notices to the effect
that an increase of 5% would be made in the wages of employees from
the first pay day in May.
Thomas the youngest who lived at Parkfield House, Thwaites
James senior had a daughter called Fanny, she had married a man of the
name Edward Ogden, Fanny and Edward had at least five children, one a
daughter Mary Ann Ogden. After Fanny's death Ira adopted Mary Ann and
brought her up as his own child.
James William Ickeringill son of James's of Balcony lived at Oakworth
Illingworth Owned Castle Mill and Grove
David Illingworth heald yarn manufacture went bankrupt in 1838. In
1802 along with his brother William they were linen weavers. It was their
mother Ann nee Binns that built Grove Mill. David was married to Grace
Smith, the daughter of Joseph who was more commonly known as the Old
Merchant. Joesph Smith built Castle Mill, Becks Road.
Edmund Laycock, Timber merchant living on North Street, married first Mary Brigg,
the daughter of Thomas & Isabel Brigg of Guardhouse. Mary died 1825.
In 1834 Edmund married Mary's
sister Isabella. Son Thomas Brigg Laycock b 1818 married Alice Craven,
granddaughter of Hiram of Oakworth, Thomas was a partner in John Brigg & Co.
In his later years lived at Aireworth House.
William b 1815 also a timber merchant, but later in life moved to Bolton
Abbey and combined his trade with farming. His tomb stone says Of Bolton Park & Woodville, Keighley.
Williams daughter Mary Anne married Henry Craven, the grandson of John Craven
of Walk Mill.
John Laycock a grocer born in Colne, married Mary Craven, the daughter
of John of Walk Mill. Son John Craven Laycock in 1871 a widower was
living in Aireworth Street and working as a railway porter. Another son
a Currier, William, married Dinah Swire, the sister of Swire Smith's
We shall start with James Lund who married Ann Shackleton,
she was the sister of Richard Shackleton of Goose Eye Mill, where he
was In partnership with: John Bottomley of Holme house and Thomas Shackleton of Truewell Hole.
James seems to have been a man of property, Spring Head Farm, Bogthorn,
Lower Bracken Bank and he owned part of Knowle Farm, he sold a field
called Rawling Close to Greenwood for him to build his grand house The
Knowle. James father John had a farm at Newsholme Dean.
Of the five children that James and Ann had, John the eldest
son would walk in his brother William's shadow. John went into
partnership with Abraham Sugden who lived on a small farm near Grove
mill, at Castle Mill Lund retired from the partnership in 1838. In the
1841 census we find his employment as maltster. We know that in 1842
he was working for his brother William managing the mill but at the
same time running a grocers shop with his wife Sarah on Damside.
In 1819 we find William at Holme Mill. By 1851 he was resident
at Knowl House. William was a close friend of Richard Butterfield.
William's son James would first marry Mary Sarah Spencer the
daughter of William Spencer of Raygill Limestone Quarries, and owner
of Raygill Hall, Lothersdale and Malsis Hall, Sutton which he still
owned but had not lived there since the 1840's. And by Mary he had the
son's Frederick James, Edward Herbert and William. His
second wife was Janet Craven, she was the grand daughter of Hiram Craven
of Oakworth the well known builder. Janet Cravens sister Alice had
married Thomas Brigg Laycock.
William Marriner was taken into the firm at West Greengate. He
died in 1809. Williams daughter Margate married John Brigg.
at Greengate House. Fieldhead,
(Lord Ingrow's home). Broom House Hawkstones.
Marriner. Prospect Spring
Gardens married the heiress of the Lister family of Frizinghall.
William Marriner 2nd. lived at Worth
Villa. William Lister Marriner, whose works band enjoyed some
success in the later nineteenth century, was a keen cornet player and
his works band evolved from a private band he had founded in 1844. The
records of W. L. Marriner's Band leave little doubt that players were
being paid at a time when they were taking part in contests (contests
usually outlawed professionalism), The rules of W. L. Marriner's
Caminando Band, As this brass band is formed for mutual amusement and
instruction in music, and, as peace and harmony are essential to its
welfare, it is highly requisite that no dispute or angry feeling
should arise among its members, therefore for the prevention of any
such occurrence, the following rules and regulations have been
adopted. 'This sentiment was enforced by Rule 7 of the Band's
regulations which threatened to impose upon its members 'for every
oath or angry expression, a penalty of 3/-'. Subscriptions came from
the members of the bands themselves; for example, as early as 1842, W.
L. Marriner's Band was imposing monthly subscriptions on its members.
Special expenditures, such as the purchase of new instruments, caused
bands to issue appeals for general subscriptions. In 1861, at least
ten of the entrants to the Crystal Palace Contest carried the name of
a Rifle Volunteers Corps. The well-established band of W. L. Marriner
from Keighley openly referred to themselves as 'W. L. Marriner's Band,
also the Band of the 35th Rifle Volunteer Corps'. A year later, they
were again calling themselves 'W. L. Marriner's Private Brass Band'.
Edward D.A. Marriner son of Benjamin of Greengates Mill,
Keighley - magistrate, councilor and, in 1885, Mayor of Keighley
married Jane Hammond
son of Benjamin.
Because of a disagreement between William and Edward which led to a
complete severance of relations and a physical division of the mill.
Marriner Shann Manor Hawkstone
Drive, Utley. Marriner Family Tree mark23.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk
John Raymond Lister, only son of Mr. and Mrs. RV Marriner, of
Shann Manor, Keighley
Hartley Merrall Acres Mill, Springhead Mill & Springhead
House, Oakworth. Two of the Merralls attended the wedding of
Charlotte Bronte. haworth-village.org.uk
In 1884 Edwin Robinson Merrall Built Longlands, Cross Roads. Ebor
Mill, Haworth. Hiram Craven sold to Edwin Merrall. Acres
Mill Started life as a machine shop, Berry Smith converted it.
Hartley Merrall haworth-village.org.uk
The Midgley family were a family of note, and the better
known family was from Haworth. William's son also called William, in
1841 was an inn keeper living at Ponden, his brother Joseph was farming
there. Sister Alice married Robert Heaton of Ponden Hall.
Mary Midgley the Great Granddaughter of Robert Heaton 1587-1640, married
Peter Heaton, the son of the said Robert.
William Mitchell who had been in partnership with Roper at Cabbage Mill
lost three children in a terrible rail accident at Wennington at about
14:11 on 11/8/1880. His wife and a son injured Board
of Trade Report tathamhistory.org.uk
born 1711, owned Royd House, Oxenhope.
His Granddaughter Elizabeth married Robert Heaton
1758-1817, of Ponden.
Robert Murgatroyd, farmer of Lees, Cross Roads married Janet daughter of
Hiram, the builder, and Alice Craven of Oakworth.
William Holland Murgatroyd, who would become the Inn Keeper at the Globe Inn,
Thomas Ogden and his wife Esther Stansfield ran a small beerhouse in
Oxenhope, their sons Joseph and Thomas moved to Rastrick to go into the
brewing business with John Brook Booth. Joseph was married to Harriet Booth,
the aunt of John Brook Booth, she
was also the sister of Keighley Inn Keeper
Joseph Booth. After the death of Thomas,
Esther married John Feather spinner at Holme Mill
Oxenhope in partnership with John Speak. The Feather
were well known spinners in Oxenhope, John's father lived at Wadsworth House
and brother Thomas at Thorn Villa. Alfred Speak, son of the above
mentioned John, married Ann Pawson the daughter of George E Pawson. George E Pawson
granddaughter, Agnes Mary Pawson married Harry Haggas architect. Harry
was the son of John Hagges who was responsible for the plans of: Houses
called Gables off North Dean Road. Haincliffe House. Part of Knowle
Spring Brewery. Devonshire Mill. His son's would later join him and he
traded as John Haggas and Sons.
and Alice Mosley produced at least eight children, one of these, a son, Edward Ogden,
he married Fanny Ickringill the daughter of James Ickringill, when Fanny
died in 1867 James adopted her daughter Mary Ann Ogden, the only girl of
the five of Edward and Fanny's children, the rest all being male.
This family were mainly farming at Utley, but some family members
did get involved in the running of public houses and beer houses.
William Paget and Rebecca Hird produced at least five children.
Daughter Rebecca married William Shackleton of Braithwaite, one of their
sons Abraham was a farmer and publican at the Lord Rodney and later
the Golden Lion, Low Street.
Another son of William and Rebecca was William, he and Mary Rawling
produced at least four children, William married Mary Smith, their daughter
Mary married William Rishworth landed proprietor of Eastburn House and
Francis Paget son of William married Mary Smith and farmed at Utley,
his son William married Eliza Manby of the Manby's the well
known ironmongers of Skipton, William went to
live at Skipton after his marriage and was a Solicitor.
James Paget son of Joseph and Ellen Carven farmed at Royd House Walk,
Long Lee, daughter Ann married Henry Seed Ale and Porter merchant of
Spring Gardens and later the Albert Hotel. Bridge Street.
Elijah Paget in 1851 is a saddler, working for Samuel Paget his
brother, in 1861 is farming on his own account, he must have fancied a
change because in the next census of 1871 he is a beer seller at the Grinning Rat
on New Street. But he later returns to farming. Samuel leaves Keighley
and moves to London to ply his harness trade to the Royal Artillery. When
Samuel moves away it is Elijah that takes in his son Charles who would
later move in with Rowland at the farm at Hawkcliff.
George Paget is the 2nd great-grandson of William Paget and Rebecca Hird
he would marry their great granddaughter Rebecca Shackleton, her
grandmother was Rebecca Paget, the couple would move to Tuam, Ireland.
We believe but yet to prove that they had a son Robert Henry Paget
born in Ireland and that it was his son Henry that married William Paget
and Rebecca Hird 3rd great granddaughter Mary Shackleton.
Jane Ann Manby Paget married James Wright of Ingrams Mill, Ingram Street
and Damems mill.
Joseph Paget in 1871 is working at the Roe Buck, Utley for widow Elizabeth
Smith who was also his sister in law.
A long line of corn millers. Guy Pearson was the son of John b1721, corn
miller of Great Horton, his first wife was Haworth girl Susan Appleyard,
with her he produced 7 children. From the parish registers we have ascertained
that he was living at Mill Hill in Haworth and in 1751 that he is
a corn miller for the baptism of his daughter Elizabeth. From the death
of his son Guy in 1757 we know he is at Mill Bridge Keighley. Wife Susan
died in 1760, and in 1761 he married again to Hannah Moore. Guy and
Hannah produced three children. At the baptism of there first son, Guy,
we know he is at Lane Ends, Oakworth.
Guys eldest son, James was a corn miller at Stockbridge in 1777 and we
know he was still there in 1780, but by 1788 we find him at Mill Bridge,
Keighley. James was married to Grace Battersby, their son John was also
a corn miller at Stockbridge in 1802, his daughter Grace married into
another corn milling family, the Smith's, marrying Daniel Smith corn
miller of Bingley. Grace's brother William was a corn miller at Bingley.
Mary the daughter of Guy and Susan, had a child out of wedlock, Sugden Pearson,
he operated his carrier service from Market Place, Keighley. His
daughter, Susanna married Lawrence Smith, brother of Prince Smith.
Another daughter of Guy and Susan, Susannah, she married William Sugden,
they were the parents of William Sugden of Eastwood House. Susannah and
Williams daughter married John Greenwood of Ellar Carr Mill,
John, son of Guy and Susan married Grace Simpson, their son Guy was also
a corn Mill, Guy lived at Hob Cote in Oakworth in 1796, 1713 and he is
at Lane Ends in Oakworth. He would later move to Glusburn, but return to
Oakworth in his later years. Guy married Mary Sugden. Their son also
names Guy continued in the family trade of corn miller, working first at
Glusburn with brother Thomas, then later in Hanover Street,
Keighley. Thomas would return to the corn mill at Mill Hill at
Mary, daughter of Guy and Mary married Samuel Terry of Cure Laith farm,
it was their son Brian who would murder his wife Sarah Wright and become
better known as the man in the Guard House Murder, from the book by
John son of John and Grace, married to Betty Pighills, took on Ponden
corn mill for a while, 1805 to 1812 at Lane Ends, Oakworth. From 1813
till his death in 1843 he seems to have settled at Hill Top in Oakworth.
This John also had a son by the name of John, and he too went into the
family business, corn dealer, and in 1841 we find him residing in the
Oakworth Hall area. After his death his wife Sarah moved to Pecket Well,
Hebden Bridge to run The Robin Hood Inn.
Elizabeth, daughter of John and Betty married William Roper, grocer of
Haworth, she was his third wife, and a daughter Ann Roper married Charles Hird
of Acre House, Keighley.
We have taken the information from what should be reliable source's.
From the entries in Parish registers we have only used those that have
given the place of residence, aware that there were branches of this
family placed around the area, we did not want to make any errors. At
the moment in time we have not included the Rawson's of Deanfield.
Sources we have used: Visitation of England and Wales, Burkes and Parish
Registers of Keighley, Bingley and non Conformists.
Rawson's of Ingrow and Bracken Bank: John b 1505 d 1564 Ingrow
Son John b 1535 d 1589 m Agnes
1) John b 1564 d Apr 1604 m 04 Feb 1600 Mary Shackleton. Daughter
Elizabeth m William Hird.
2) William b 1568 d 1623 m 07 Feb 1596 Isabel Fowler. Children: Margaret
m Robert Wright. Isabella m her cousin John Rawson and they had a son William
who died 29 Sep 1695 Bolton, Bradford. Elizabeth m William Midgley. Mary
b 1605 d 05 May 1663 m Joseph Field of Shipley.
3) Anthony d 1614 in Bingley m Margaret Bean. Their daughter Maud m 1610
George Fairburn, son John b 1583 m Elizabeth Oldfield they had
daughter Lydia who married John Wilkinson and son John who married the
above Isabella daughter of William Rawson.
Rawson's of Stubbing House: There are reasons for us
to believe that some members of the Rawson family from Stubbbing House
were Quakers. Richard Shackelton on Harden was find for attending a
Quaker meeting here. The family resided here for many years, we are
aware of a John Rawson from this place in the early 1500's. Taken
from Keighley Past and Present "The last person of this ancient
family residing in the neighbourhood, was one Thomas Rawson, who, stript
of his property, like many a greater man in exigence, took to the profession
of school master".
William had the
following children. Ann b 1627 d 1639 Jeremiah b 1631 William b 1630 Elizabeth
1634 Joseph 1637 Jonathan (Johannis) 1642, Jonathan had two
daughters, Elizabeth b 1678 & Marianne b 1663
We suspect this is could be Thomas mentioned above who lost his
property. Thomas Rawson of Stubbing House m 11 Feb 1751 Mary Beanlande, their
children: John b 1753 Joseph b 1756 William b 1757 d 1777 Elizabeth b 1759
d 1777 Sarah
Gulielmus d 1673. John son of William d 1625
Others: Isabel Rawson m 18 Jun 1565 in Keighley John Stell of
Keighley, co. York husbandman. Will dated in 1604, proved at York
October 1607, by son John Stell.
We found a John with no place of abode listed baptizing the following
children at Keighley: Willm
12 Dec 1562 John
12 Nov 1564 Jenet 6 Oct 1594 Margret 24 Nov 1594 Anne 10 May 1595 Mary 8
Isabell b 7 Nov 1595 Bingley
Father's Name: Henry Rawson.
Isabell Burial 5 Jun 1606 Bingley Henry Rawson
John Rawson m 28 May 1593 Kly Anne Fell.
Joseph Rhodes, Worsted Manufacturer of Low Bridge, Keighley, one of his
son's, David had a drapers shop on High Street and was married to Mary Waterhouse,
the daughter of Thomas, also a draper. David's son Jonathan, first works
for his Grandmother Ann Waterhouse learning the draper trade in the
South Street Shop. 1871 there is only himself listed and a
servant, Martha Waterhouse. In 1881 we can see that the shop takes
up 43, 45 & 47 South Street, 1891 he is at Regent Place
Thomas Robinson was a Worsted Manufacture in 1832 at Greengate, his son William
was married to Sarah Maria Illingworth, daughter of William, Linen weaver
of Grove Mill. William Robinson Worsted Spinner & Manufacturer was
at Sutcliffe field, Long Lee in 1841 but at Strong Close Mill at 1851.
James Robinson married to Martha Taylor daughter of George Taylor of the
Manor House Stanbury. James & Martha produced at least three
children, James, George & William.
George married Mary Heaton daughter of Robert Heaton of Royd House, Oxenhope.
George was a manufacturer and farmer. George and Mary had three
daughters, Mary Ann married Michael Merrall, Harriet married Michael Merrall
brother Hartley Merrall. Maria married John Ogden, Worsted spinner and grocer.
William Robinson married twice, his first wife was Susannah Sugden, and
together they produced many children. William was a Worsted Manufacture
and Inn Keeper of the Friendly at Stanbury.
Jabez Robinson, born in Addingham, started his working life in his
fathers linen drapers shop on Green Street, Keighley, later taking over
the same shop. Jabez daughter Sarah married William Weatherhead, Auctioneer
of Croft House.
Ropers: See the mills page for
more on the Ropers
William Sharp thisisbradford.co.uk
Gillett Sharpe was born in Keighley in 1781. Sharpe, overseer of the
poor in Keighley, was interviewed by Michael Sadler and his House of
Commons Committee on 6th June, 1832.
Old Three Laps, William Sharp. Vale n Dale
Sharps of Intake and Whin Knowl
From information that we found in John Hodgson's book we have been able
to find out a little of this family. We shall start with William, born
at Field Head near Newsholme. Despite being out in the wilds and the
lack of learning facilities around him, by the time he was an adult he
had enough suitable education and qualifications to apply and be
accepted for a post working for a London Solicitor. During his time
there he was taken by the press gang, but his employers thought so much
about him they fought for his release, and won. After around twenty
years he returned to Keighley. He had managed while in London to save a
considerable sum of money and bought the estate which contained Intake
(off North Dean Road) and Whin Knowl farms. Living at Intake he started
business as a manufacturer of stuff pieces. After
Williams death Samuel along with his brother James continued the
business of manufacturer of stuff pieces. We can find not record of
their business after 1824 and wonder if the Butterworth panic had
anything to do with them giving up or if we have just not been able to
find the documentation.
Eldest son Samuel carried on at Intake, but farming. After
Samuel's death three of his children, James, John and Sarah carried on
running the farm, but in 1858 both boys died, leaving Sarah alone. We tracked
Sarah down in the 1871 census and find her still there at the age of 65
running the farm which is shown with 21 acres with two female servants.
This particular line of Sharps seem to have come to an end here.
The other son, James takes on Whin Knowl who Hodgson
describes James Sharp as the most intelligent farmer in the parish and
goes on to say that for a great number of years he was the surveyor at
first for the parish and later for the board of health. His measurements
and calculations being almost faultless. His greatness not noticed until
after he retires from post when it took twice the salary to achieve the
same amount of work. James produced seven children, John Sharp was
a surveyor of roads and continued living at Whin Knowl.
Nanny died unmarried aged forty seven.
William a School Master moved out of Whin knowl after getting married
and somewhere between 1861 and 1871 changed occupation to Coal Agent.
Viewing the 1881 census we see another change in career to Income Tax Collector
but he is now living at Intake. I suspect that after Sarah's death he
took over the property. It is his son James who farms the land at
Intake. Once reaching manhood Williams other son Samuel Tertius Sharp,
moves into the town to become a book keeper.
Back a generation to the children of James, another son Thomas lived at
Whin Knowl with an occupation of book keeper. Samuel starts off with an
occupation of wool sorter, and once married to Mary Shackleton the
daughter of Abraham Shackleton landlord of the Lord Rodney, moves into
the town and continues with this occupation, until around 1871 when he
turns to book keeping. After the death of his wife he returns to Whin
Knowl and farms the land alongside his brothers.
James remained at the farm until his death farming the land.
Isaac Newton Sharp lived his life at Whin Knowl farming, at the grand
age of seventy four after remaining a bachelor, on 19 Dec 1901 he
married widow Maria Horseman, nee Gott. After the death of her first
husband Maria had taken work at the Lord Rodney Inn.
Shackleton's can be traced back to the early 1500's, there
are numerous entries in the parish registers relating to them. We
shall make our start with John Shackleton of Laycock who died 12 Feb 1710.
Of two sons that he had William who married Susannah Tillotson from Saxton in
Elmet. Of the children they had we shall talk about Abraham.
1782, Abraham Shackleton, who owned and occupied a farm at Braithwaite
and wove worsted and cotton pieces, went into partnership with the
Craven brothers of Guardhouse to establish cotton spinning and weaving
business in two cottages and at Stell or Walk Mill, Keighley, which
had previously been a fulling and silk mill. Shackleton went on to
build Wood Mill at Goose Eye in 1798 and in the same year in
partnership with the Cravens, Greengate Mill. He married Elizabeth (Betty) Greenwood
who was the sister of John Greenwood of Cabbage House and Mill.
Abraham and Betty's eldest child William married Rebecca Paget of Utley.
Of the children that this marriage produced was Abraham who's first wife
was a distant relative, Ann Shackleton, daughter of John. His second marriage
was to Harriet Spence from Fewstone, she had also been married before,
to William Fox who had been landlord at the Kings Arms, Haworth and Lord Rodney, Keighley.
We can only assume that it was from this marriage to Harriet that Abraham
too became a landlord, The Lord Rodney and the Golden Lion. All the
children produced by Abraham and his first wife Ann seem to have stayed
in farming, or in the case of the girls, married farmers, daughter Mary
marrying Samuel Sharp of Whin Knowl, and Rebecca who married George Paget
and they would move to Tuam, Ireland.
Another son produced by Abraham and Betty Greenwood,
Abraham Shackleton died unmarried but left 2 natural daughters who were
unable to marry while he was alive as he threatened to cut them out of
the will (Taken from Laycock Village website). They were Martha Smith
and Elizabeth Smith, Elizabeth married William Shackleton, quarry man
of Lees near Haworth. This William Shackleton was the son of William Shackleton
and Rebecca Paget.
Another daughter of Abraham and Ann was Ann Shackleton, she married John Midgley Hird,
the illegitimate son of Susan Hird of Daisy Hill Farm at Braithwaite. John Midgley Hird
and Ann produced a daughter, Susan, she married late in life, and would
be her husband, George Town, second wife. George Town mother was Naomi Atkinson,
Naomi's sister Jane had married Abraham Shackleton, Printer and Stationer
and the son of William Shackleton and Elizabeth Smith.
The unmarried Abraham was a farmer, mill owner and expert gardener. He
also kept a diary in which he made detailed records of the weather,
having a small weather station in his garden. In the diary he mentions
that his uncle James Greenwood lent him a book on astrology.
William Shackleton of Newsholme owner of several farms in the village
and a close friend of Richard Butterfield was the father of Ann who
married James Lund the father of William the industrialist. Son Richard Shackleton
who was married to Sarah Bottomley he was in partnership at Goose Eye Mill with: John Bottomley of Holme house
and Thomas Shackleton of Truewell Hole, Richard lost all his property
after Goose Eye. Richards daughter Sarah married Isaac Butterfield,
who's son Henry Isaac Butterfield would go on to great things. Daughter
Martha married Michael Sugden of Green Top, Holme House, Stuff Piece manufacturer.
There were many Smith's who did well one way or another in Keighley.
Smith one of the most common names, so we tread with care and make no
attempt to make guesses at the ancestry of any. While looking at
the census our eyes fell on an entry for James Smith, High Street, Grocer and
tobacco manufacture. Of his many children one of them, John would
continue the tobacco side of things while his mother Elizabeth looked
after the grocery side. One of John's daughters Paulina married John Smith
also a grocer of Market Place. One of their children, John went on to be
a tobacco and cigar manufacturer.
*Alfred Smith of Skipton married Ann Elizabeth Hattersley the daughter of
John Mitchell Hattersley and granddaughter of George Hattersley. Alfred
had been part of Tetley and Smith worsted manufacturers
of Skipton, after the end of this partnership he continued for
some time in Skipton before entering the loom making business. Alfred
and Ann lived at Woodworth on Halifax Road built for John
Henry Smith a farmer of Silsden produced at least nine children.
Daughter Sarah married Joseph Padget, in 1871 we find him
working at the Roe Buck Inn at Utley. Grace married Thomas Gill of
Silsden, a farmer and beer seller. James married a lady by the name of Elizabeth,
by 1861 James has died and Elizabeth is running the Roe Buck Inn and in
1871 is employing her brother in law Joseph Padget. Elizabeth died in
1874. James and Elizabeth had a son John who had been at the Kings Arms
in Keighley, in 1881 he comes to the Roe Buck and is brewing and farming
97 acres. Mary Hannah Wilkinson was niece of John Smith Landlord of the
Roe Buck and she was here in 1881 and in 1887 when she married James Weatherhead
who's father William had been the landlord of the Commercial Inn.
For our next Smith family the earliest we can start with any certainty
is with William Smith who married Elizabeth Thompson. William was the
son of James and Elizabeth Smith. We know that James was a miller in
1758, and we know he was at Stockbridge in 1774.
A book well worth
reading is THE MASTER SPINNER
By KEIGHLEY SNOWDEN.
William Smith born 1774 was the
son of James, the corn miller at Stockbridge. Instead of becoming a miller,
William started out making clocks, and was involved in this occupation
from about 1799 until around 1815.
They had at least ten children. One son James Smith married Frances Ellison
daughter of John who was the landlord of the Crown Inn, Church Street.
James was a farmer and Machine Maker at Threaproyd and lived at Royd
who started of as a whitesmith and mechanic later became a grocer, he
married Susanna Pearson, she was the daughter of Sugden Person who was a
carrier living and working from Market Street. A daughter of Lawrence
and Susanna, Elizabeth Smith married William Gregson Roper of Haworth,
who started off working for his father in the Main Street of Howorth but
came down to Keighley to set up on his own account as wholesale
and retail Grocer. Elizabeth's sister Mary married Joseph Pickles who
was living and operating Holme Mill. Two of Lawrence's son's
would follow the family trade, Person and Thomas. Back now to other
children of William and Elizabeth.
George Smith the youngest of the
children and a partner in the machine making business was by natural tendency
more interested in horses, by 1871 he is describing himself as a farmer.
George built himself a house called Lowfield, it stood next door to the library,
on the site that would become the children's library, he bred some of
the fastest trotting horses in the country. George's daughter Mary Ann married John Bairstow Spencer the son of
George the law attorney. The most well known and remembered son of
George is Swire Smith Wikipedia
He had another son, Samuel, neither son's married.
George and Prince Smith were brothers. One daughter of Prince, Susannah
married Robert Clough of Grove Mill. Another daughter Thamer married John Clough
the brother of Robert. Prince would name a son after himself, Prince Smith
who would in turn have a son named Prince and would be called Prince Prince Smith,
he married Maud Mary Wright the daughter of Henry Attorney at law.
Some more Smiths who were corn millers, we suspect, but are not certain
that they were related to the above William. We know from the entries in
the Parish register for the birth of his children that in 1765 Robert,
who was married to Anne Sugden in 1759 was living at Green Top, Braithwaite. Son
Martin was a Farrier at Strong Close.
William built a warehouse and house in Blind Lane and went into
textiles. It is in Hodgsons Textile book where he says that William was the
son of the corn miller at Stockbridge. David was a farmer at Hainworth Wood Bottom.
Son Joseph carried on milling at Stockbridge. From the census of 1841 we
can see that Joseph is still living at Stockbridge but is now farming,
the corn milling now being done by John Wright. Son of Joseph, John who
we trace in the 1851 census is a corn miller living on Eastwood Row, but
we know not where he is working, possibly for the Wright family.
Thomas and Hannah Smith produced three
son's, Samuel was married to Mary Foulds, the sister of William Fowlds,
Inn keeper. Samuel Smith was a Spindle maker at Long Croft.
His brother Simeon Smith, was a Reed & Heald Maker at Queen
Of Simeon's children he had two sons who went into business with each other,
Simeon and Thomas. We do not know when they went into partnership, but
we know when it was dissolved from and item in the London Gazette 1860.
NOTICE is hereby given, that the Partnership heretofore subsisting
between us the undersigned, Thomas Smith and Simeon Smith, carrying on
business at Keighley, in the county of York, as Reed and Heald Makers,
is this day dissolved by mutual consent.—As witness our hands this 2nd
day of May, 1860. Thomas Smith. Simeon Smith.
What exactly went wrong we do not know, but we find Thomas in 1863 in debtors
Jail: Thomas Smith, of Keighley, in the county of York, Reed and Heald
Maker, late a Prisoner for Debt in Her Majesty's Prison at York Castle,
having been adjudged bankrupt by a Registrar of the Court of
We do not know when Thomas first wife, Mary Ann Sugden died, but he
married again in 1869. Thomas carried on his trade, but out of the area.
Another Smith also a Reed & Heald Maker,
John Smith, son of Blacksmith and shop keeper Sharp Smith. John was at Upper Green,
his son Joseph married Elizabeth Clough and lived at Beechcliff
Abraham Smith died in 1791, His
estate fringed the river Worth south of the North beck and including Dam Close,
he built West Greengate Mill for cotton spinning. His sister Margaret
married Hugh Flesher, it was their daughter Agnes who married William Marriner.
Abraham's uncle, Joseph Smith, built Castle Mill, Becks Road.
Joseph's daughter Hannah married Jeremiah Carrodus, another daughter Grace
married David Illingworth, heald yarn
Their daughter Ann Illingworth built Grove Mill.
of Skipton, Morton Banks & Keighley bigpond.com.....Richard
and Martha Hanson Smith of
Keighley allfam.com Bracewell Smith attended Wesley
Place School......Joseph Smith built Castle Mill on the North Beck....
Bracewell Smith like many men of
Keighley who improved their lot came from humble beginnings. His father
Samuel is a leather currier born in Warwickshire, and mother born in
Bingley. From the census we can see that Bracewell's grandfather came to the area and living in Haworth at Hall, most probably
came to the area for work, he is listed as a power loom weaver. The
census of 1911 shows Samuel and daughter Alice living at South View, Hermit Hole.
Bracewell's brother Louis in 1911
is married and living at 58 Cliffe View, Hainworth. The mother Salina is
shown in 1911 with Bracewell and
his family in London. Bracewell Smith is better known for being the
person who donated Cliff Castle to the town for a museum. wikipedia.org
John Smith the son of Jonas Smith a
farmer at Brogden near Laycock was at Wood Mill from approximately 1837
till 1853. He took Wood Mill to spin yarn, around a year later he
introduced power looms into the mill but still continued to employ
handloom weavers. He gave up around 1853 after being unable to compete
with other manufactures, and his workforce unwilling to operate more
than one loom at a time. John had married Sarah Sutcliffe, the daughter
of Ingham Sutcliffe, who described himself as a cotton spinner of Ickornshaw.
When John died in 1861 she remarried to widower Thomas Wiseman, cotton
spinner of Barrowford, Colne, operating under the name of Thornber &
Wiseman, this partnership ended in 1871. Afterwards Smith & Wiseman
at Hill End. in Briercliffe. This firm was known to pay the best
wages. John William Smith the only surviving son of John and Sarah went
to Colne with his mother and Step father, he seems to have worked for
Thomas in the cotton spinning, but in the 1881 census we see that he is
a master brick maker employing 6 men and one boy. John William is a
named executer in his step fathers will. By 1861 James Hanson is living
at Brogden and Ann Smith daughter of Jonas and her husband Jonathan
Waddington who in 1851 were living there, with Jonas, are living in
Laycock village. Another daughter of Ingham Sutcliffe, Betsy, married
Moses Smith who at the time of his death was of Fountain Head, Laycock,
in 1841 he is living at Wood Mill and is described as Overlooker, by
1851 he is farming at Far Laith, Laycock. What we did notice was that we
were not able to locate Fountain Head on any map, but on the 1861 census
it is entered right before Brogden. A newspaper item we found in the The
Bradford Observer, October 08, 1863. On Thursday last, at the Wesleyan Chapel
Keighley, by the Rev Thomas Wood, assisted by the Rev Thomas West,
Thomas Wiseman Esq of Colne to Mrs. John Smith of Fountain Head, near
We wonder if Moses and John
Smith are related. In the 1851 census at Brogden, we have Ann and her
husband, her father Jonas, listed as a lodger, and a John Smith age 32,
in the relation to head column, the word relative has been written over
and replaced with lodger. We believe this is Aaron Smith's eldest son,
Aaron was the second son of Jonas, Aaron was a Grocer on Leeds Street.
There was another son, William, born at Brogden in 1798.
William Spencer of Malsis Hall, Sutton produced William born 1775.
His eldest son also called William married twice, first wife being Mary Aldersley
the daughter of Peter of Raygill House. They produced two son's and a
daughter Mary Sarah who married James Lund of Knowle and later Malsis
Hall. Son's were Peter William and Edward George, this son married
twice, his first wife being Jane Clough. William born 1775
daughter Ellen married John Town papermaker, John was her second
husband, she was the widow of Richard Harper. William's other son George
married Sarah Bairstow of the Bairstows corn millers and worsted
manufactures. Of their children Elizabeth Spencer married Joseph Henry Craven
of Strong Close House. Sarah Helen married corn miller William Midgley. John Bairstow Spencer
worsted spinner and manufacturer married Mary Ann Smith sister of Swire
Smith. Their daughter Amy married Corn Miller Percy Bairstow.
Other sons of George and Sarah Bairstow, Thomas Wilson Spencer Attorney
at Law. George Emmett Spencer Attorney at Law, North Street
John Wilson Spencer Lime merchant and solicitor married Mary Elizabeth Craven
daughter of Joseph Henry Craven and Elizabeth Spencer.
of Broom House. John Spencer and Sons wool staplers consisted of
father John, son's John and David, and son in law Thomas Binns.
Grace, daughter of John married Banks Booth, licensee of the Woolpack.
Sally married Richard Williamson Corn Miller of Williamson and Townend
New Bridge Street. Son David Wools staper Chapel Lane. David's
daughter Rebecca Mary Anne married Benjamin Flesher Marriner.
The downfall of Stell vale
A popular family name in Keighley, we of course are interested in
Stell of Walk Mill.
Michael Stell was Lord of the Manor of Oakworth. Despite
his title Michael Stell should be regarded as a prosperous yeoman farmer
rather than as a gentleman. His will shows that he owned two other
farms, one at Stairs in Far Oxenhope and the other at Hey in the Parish
Michael had the following children: Mary, Martha, Ann (who
might also have been called Amy), Michael and Joseph.
Stell senior died 1723. Michael,
the elder brother, got Hey and Joseph the farm at Stairs. Wellhead was
to be shared between them.
Michael junior produced at
least five children. One son, Joseph, married Alice Iveson, the sister
of Thomas Iveson, the father of Thomas Howgill Iveson, Worsted Spinner
of Greengate, and later Hey Gardens.
A son of Joseph & Alice Iveson, Robert married Isabelle Atkinson. Of
their children, Joseph a Cordwainer first of Market Place, but after his
marriage then of Park Lane. In 1841 we find children George and Sarah
Whitaker living with him, there are with him and his new wife in 1851,
with the addition of John Whitaker, the children are listed as son's and
daughter. In 1841 the two year old John Whitaker is living with Joseph Stell's
younger brother Richard. What we have managed to ascertain is that the
parents of these three children were Robert Whitaker and Sarah Stell,
Sarah registered young Johns birth, she list's herself as widow. We can
only imagine that Sarah was the sister of Joseph
Joseph Stell & Hannah Smith do not seem to have produced any
children of their own.
Stell, Mechanic of Thwaites & son of Robert & Isabelle Atkinson
died before 1851, his wife Ann remarried to John Heyworth, a beerhouse
keeper of Todmorden, she took the children she had with Richard with
her. One of the children, Lydia, married Mosses Driver, she had moved in
to be a servant after Mosses first wife Alice Iveson Stell died, then
later married him. Alice was the illegitimate daughter of Lydia Stell,
who was the daughter of Robert Stell & Isabelle Atkinson.
We shall now return to our original
Lord of the Manor of Oakworth, and his most famous son, Joseph Stell
1710 - 1768. Joseph married Alice Taylor. Of the six children
they produced we shall stay with William, at this time he is the
only child of Joseph that we feel that we can record with
William was married twice, with his first wife Mary he produced Michael,
who married Dinah Emmott. One of their daughters Elizabeth married John Dunderdale,
who was from Barrowford but made knowle Gate his home. A son of Michael
& Dinah, William, after his marriage he moved to Bradford and in
1851 we find he is a worsted spinner employing 33 people (mostly
children) and living at Apple Hall, which appears to be
two dwellings as the next person in the census at that same place is
another employer, a Mr. Clayton. We found an advertisement for Apple
Hall, Bradford from a few years previous to Stell living
A Genteel HOUSE, called APPLE-HALL, situated in Barker-End, near
Bradford, in the County of York, consisting of a neat Dining-Room,
Drawing-Room, Hall, Store-Room, an elegant Stair-Case, another for
Servants, Dressing Closets, six Lodging Rooms, a Lodging Rooms, a
large Cellar and a Kitchen over it, with a Pump therein fixed to a
strong Spring of excellent good Water, which never yet in the least
way was found to fail, Brew House and Wash-House adjoining thereto,
Stable, Hay-Loft and other suitable Conveniences thereto belonging,
with a Garden in the Front well stocked with choice Fruit Trees;
and, if Land is wanted, the Tenant may have a few Acres near the
House. The Situation of Apple-Hall is remarkably pleasant, and is
only Half a Mile from Bradford, fronting to the great Turnpike-Road
leading from thence to Leeds. For farther Particulars apply to Mr.
Benjamin Farrer, of Bradford aforesaid.
We return to William Stell & his second wife Alice Atkinson.
Their son Smith Stell married Mary Waddington, They had two son's, Joseph
& Fenton. There is more information on Fenton Stell on the
"Men Of Worth" website.
Joseph Stell 1710 - 1768. If we take a few facts from “Revival
to Regency A History of Keighley and Haworth 1740-1820"
The same year that Joseph married Alice 1733 and he sold his farm at
Stairs and his interest in the Wellhead farm to his brother. With
the money he rented a warehouse in Keighley market place, acquired a
stock of goods and started on his travels as a chapman.
In 1744 Stell took the old fulling mill at Keighley and the next
year a patent for silk weaving by water power was taken out in the
joint names of Kay and Stell. Production did not begin immediately.
A visitor to Keighley in 1750 observed that the factory was still
“setting up”. The delay may have been caused by Kay’s
emigration to France.
By 1751 Stell had gathered enough money together to begin purchasing
property. By a deed dated the 11 November he purchased from Samuel
Whaley of St. Ives “Au that Messuage or Tenement now divided into
several Cottages or Dwelling houses situate in the Market Place of
Keighley together with Two Shops, One Barn, One Stable, One Chamber
and all other Buildings there unto belonging, all now in the several
Tenures or Occupations of the said Joseph Stell, James Parker, John
Wood and George Keighley.” The purchase transformed him at a
stroke from a tenant to a landlord controlling most of one side of
the Market Place. Included in the same transaction were several
pieces of land — Flosh Close, the Ravenroyd, the Pinnels, a close
called Hardings, together with strips in both the Townfield and the
Lawkholme Lane Field.
Joseph Stell’s brother.in-law, James Taylor, was a tallow
chandler. He owned an estate at Southowram consisting of a house,
several cottages and nine closes of land, together with a house on
the corner of Cornmarket street in Halifax. Taylor had run himself
into financial difficulties. He had mortgaged his property to Ralph
Downes of Wakefield and was encountering problems in keeping up the
payments. He offered to sell the estate to Stell for £300 on
condition that he took over the mortgage and paid him an annuity of
£30 for the rest of his life. To read the full story on this "The
Downfall of Stell".
Some time after 1759 the estate of Thomas Micklethwaite in Keighley
came on the market. The land was down by the Worth in an ideal
position for a silk tape mill. The temptation was too great. Stell
took out a second patent in the names of Kay and himself, bought the
estate and erected a purpose built silk tape mill. The cost of the
estate was covered by a mortgage for £800 from Anthony Cooke of
Owston. When the mill was complete he found that he needed more land
for a tail goit to his mill dam. In 1761 he raised a second mortgage
of £300 from Cooke with which he bought Dam Close from John Blakey.
In 1763 he executed a deed with his son, John, now grown to man’s
estate, and running the new mill. When John backed out in 1766 he
was replaced by John Colvile, a Glasgow merchant.
We wonder if son John was aware that his father was in an unstable position
financial wise, and was able to put enough aside to save himself
when the time came that the crown would take everything that Joseph
had. We hope that at some point we are able to investigate further
what became of John. We have been able to establish what became of
William, Edward did not live beyond being an infant, this leave the eldest
The lives of the family must have been terrifying,
wondering what the outcome for them would be, also the shame that they
must surly have faced.
What became of poor Alice?
Did oldest son John provide for her, and was she the Alice Stell, widow
that married widower Timothy Clayton 5 May 1779?
burials - Keighley Parish Church 1562-1636 and 1736-1855
Abraham Sugden Castle mills.
William Sugden Fleece Mills &
Higher Providence Mill.
John Sugden Lower Providence Mills. Jonas
Sugden was a Methodist preacher and he bought Vale Mill in 1844.
William Sugden married Mary Ann Greenwood of the Haworth branch of
Greenwoods. His sister Sarah married John Greenwood of the Keighley
branch of Greenwoods. William built Eastwood House and Fleece Mills.
Caroline Sugden the daughter of
William and Mary Ann Greenwood married an immensely wealthy man Elkanah Armitage,
he was the son of Sir Elkanah Armitage of Hope Hall, Pendleton. Armitage's
were one of the biggest cotton manufacturers in the world.
John Greenwood Sugden, Esq., of Eastwood House and Steeton Hall
The last of the male line of the Sugden's of Eastwood House was the
Greenwood Sugden 1851-1934, whose only son, Guy Hatton Sudgen, was
killed in World War One killed at the Somme in France on October 12,
Michael Sugden married Martha Shackleton,
the daughter of Richard Shackleton of Green Top, Martha's sister Sarah
married Isaac Butterfield. Martha had a son in 1819, some five years
before her marriage to Michael. The son was called Richard Sugden Shackleton.
After the marriage Michael moved to
Green Top and started business as a stuff piece manufacturer. Later he
moved to the warehouse at Croft House built by Tomas Binns and occupied
part of it. Later he moved to Acres Mill using power looms. Michael's
two daughters were provided for by their cousins the Butterfield
Abraham Sugden descends
from the Sugdens of Dockroyd, Oakworth. His sister was Grace Newton Sugden,
she married Samuel Clapham (see entry for Clapham Bros., Ltd., Ironfounders).
Abraham was in partnership with John Lund at Castle Mill.
Once upon a time there was a Summerscales Musical and Verse Speaking
Competitive Festival in the town, in 1968 they held the 64th event. It
was set up as a memorial to William Henry Summerscales, a keen church
man with a great interest in music.
The family seem to originate from Silsden and Kildwick.
Elizabeth (Betty) Summerscales was the first wife of Lodge Calvert of
Alice Maude Summerscales married John Blakey the corn miller.
The Summerscales not only well known for their love of music, but for
being machine makers at Phoenix Foundry, Keighley.
W Summerscales and sons
Jonas and Thomas might well have been brothers. Both were clogger's.
Son's of Jonas, Jonas junior who continued his clogging trade in
Keighley. Thomas was employing two men at Hainworth Shaw. Benjamin after
working for his father moved away from the area, but continued to be a
clogger. William however became a grocer. Thomas Swire clogger of
High Street had at least two children, a son also called Thomas, a
Clogg and Patten maker of New Bridge Street, his son Henry continued in
the family trade of clogging, another son John start out clogging but in
later life became an art teacher. Son Thomas went to be a clerk in a
tannery. Mary daughter of Thomas the clogger of High Street married George
Smith and amongst their other children would produce Swire Smith.
Baron Ingrow (1985-92), was Chairman and
Managing Director of the Keighley brewing firm, Timothy Taylor and Co.
He served in the Royal Signals in Europe, the Middle East and Far East
during the 2nd World War and was later actively involved in politics,
for which he was awarded his peerage. John Aked Taylor, born 1917, the
grandson of Timothy Taylor.
Elizabeth Petyt of Hazlewood, Bolton Abbey, married Richard Taylor of
Bingley at Bolton Abbey in 1816 Timothy was born at Bingley in
1826. Timothy married Charlotte Aked daughter of printer
and publisher Robert Aked of Keighley Timothy continued in his
old trade as a tailor had a shop in Low Street, Some time during
the mid 1850s Timothy changed his occupation to maltster and
brewer. He had premises in Cook Lane five years later he removed to a
new site at Knowle Spring. (Knowl Spring House was owned by his father
in law) Timothy died in 1898.
Town was back in the 1800's a very popular name, there were families
of Town in Silsden, Addingham and Keighley.
Harold Clifford Town. People of Keighley will have heard of the collage called Harold Town,
Chesham Street off Dalton Lane. This building used to be The Keighley
Lift Company before becoming a collage, on the main staircase is a
stained glass window with the date 1908. Harold had been the Head of the
Engineering Department of Keighley Technical College and Consultant at T
S Harrison & Sons Ltd, Heckmondwike. From the 1911 census we can see
that his father is dead and at age 15 is a machine tool draftsman. He
came from a family of butchers, his father Nathan being a master butcher
on Church Street.
Harold Clifford Town grandfather was Nathan Town butcher of Church
Street, and he and his wife prejudiced many children. Joseph butcher of
High Street, Benjamin butcher of Princess Street then Aireworth Street.
Jane married butcher Town Clapham, Town Claphams parents were John
Clapham and Eleanor Town, the daughter of Nathan and Jane Moorehouse. Sarah married butcher Hugh Ellison.
Mary married clogger John Reeday. Henry moved out of Keighley but
continued in the family trade. Edward a butcher in Market Street, Collage
Street then Highfield Lane. Ellen married Gilbert Driver a Commercial Traveler.
Daniel also continues the trade and works for his brother Nathan. Grace
married Silsden butcher Richard Summerscales. Richards sister Martha Summerscales
married Nathan Town he was the son of Benjamin and his second wife Elizabeth Rhodes,
his first wife was Rebecca Hindle who had died in 1851, poor Rebecca
Town, in the time she
had been married she had produced thirty children, none of which
survived. Her grave hidden for many years was rediscovered in an overgrown
and forgotten area. Benjamin was Great grand uncle of
Harold Clifford Town.
Harold Clifford Town Great Grandfather Joseph Town born 20 Oct 1793
in 1841 we find him in Upper Green a butcher, but in 1871 in Cavendish
Street. His son Joseph a butcher on High Street, but not producing any
son's retires before 1891. The other son Nathan we have already covered
All the above descend from Nathan Town who was a butcher and Jane Moorehouse
, from the parish records we have ascertained that they had at
least twelve children, Eleanor the eldest born 1792 to Nathan born 1819.
In amongst those children there is Timothy, also a butcher in 1851 he is
at Low Street, but he moves away ending in Great Timble, the area his
wife came from.
Town the paper makers of Turkey Mill at Goose Eye.
John Town baptised at Kildwick, a butcher in Keighley was married to Ann Thompson of Haworth.
There is no doubt he would be related to the above Town family. It is
said that it was he who bought the mill for two of his sons John and
Joseph, he had also produced five girls. Hannah married Samuel Smith. Samuel Smith went into the
paper making business and in 1841 and 1851 we find him in residence at
Goose Eye. John the son of John and brother of Hannah married Ellen Spencer
a daughter of William Spencer of Malsis Hall, Sutton. John was most definitely
part of the Turkey Mill paper manufacturing, not having produced any
children of his own he the executers of the will were John Haggas
worsted manufacture who was the son of his sister Sarah and William Haggas.
The other son of John and Ann Thompson was Joseph Town, he moved to
Leeds and the Town family were in business here making paper,
Joseph Town & Son, one of his sons William would return to Keighley,
living at Laycock, Yew Bank Skipton Road and then at the Hills at Cross
Flats. The paper making Town family were keen Baptists, all of John and
Ann's children were baptised at the Baptist church and we know that when
Joseph moved to Leeds he continued in that faith Biblicalstudies
Thomas Wall born 1805 in Addingham, Wine & Spirit Merchant of Cook
Lane. He was married to Mary Iveson, the daughter of Thomas Howgill Iveson,
manufacturer of Heys Gardens. They had many children and all married
well. Emma to Thomas Blakey, Corn Miller and Maltster. Mary to William Blake Williamson
a manufacturer. Thomas to Mary Jane Thomas, the daughter of a wine merchant.
There were two main Walbank families in Keighley. We shall start
first with Nathaniel Wallbank who we suspect, but have not yet proven,
that he was the son of John Wallbanck of Colne. Nathaniel Wallbank born
1743, died 10 Feb 1821, and was married to Betty Keighley. From the baptism
records of his children we know he started off married life at Cabbage
Croft, this was long before Greenwood obtained the land to build his
mill and house, he then moved to Thwaites.
One son Jonas married Alice
Clapham and went to live at Brimham, but had most of his children
baptised at Keighley.
Another son, William was married twice, first to
Martha Fox in 1789, the daughter of William Fox
the miller of Mill Bridge. They had a least one child, a son John. After
Martha's death William married Mary Hartley and their son Nathaniel was
baptised in 1789. Nathaniel, who was well known in his day as an
industrialist. Nathaniel worked hard and prospered and in 1822 we
find him listed in the trade directory at High Street, but sadly most of
his trade was with the Butterworth's, and he would be ruined in the
Butterworth panic of 1826. Over time he managed to pay back his
creditors and start up again, taking room and power at Fleece Mills. In
a short while he was back on his feet, and when better times arrived he
married. Unfortunately the events of 1826 had taken toll on him,
shortening his life, dying at the age of 56.
Nathaniel's son William
married Maryann, the daughter of Aaron Iveson, draper of High Field
Villa. Aaron was the son of Iveson of Greengate and Hey Garden mills.
Another Nathaniel Wallbank born 1802 who came from Colne, took the farm Two Laws.
They had at least nine children, being born between 1824 and 1854. One
son was Joseph, he married Mary Anne Butterfield, these two had a son
Samuel who was landlord of the Grouse Inn in 1901. Mary Anne Butterfield
had a brother Joseph who had been the landlord of the same place for
almost 40 years until sometime after 1881.
There are two families of note, one from Silsden and another
William Weatherhead late 1700's early 1800's was Landlord
at the Commercial Inn, Church Green amongst his other occupations were
Farmer and grocer. Daughter Jane married Coal merchant Thomas Seed.
Another daughter Nancy married John Clough of Grove Mill. It
was his son William that would take over at the Commercial Inn.
This William had a son called David who was an Architect and
combined that work with Corn dealing. David became a member of the
Spiritualist society, he was a former Chartist agitator. A wealthy
grocer, Provision Merchant and printer who had recently lost a son,
David bankrolled a new publication The Yorkshire Spiritual Telegraph READ
ONLINE. David and his brother Fredrick William were in partnership
on Cook Lane, D. and F Weatherhead corn millers.
Another of William's sons James would take up the Commercial
Inn, giving three generations at the same Inn.
Our second William was married to Elisabeth (Betty) Wilkinson, we have
no idea if she is related to the two sisters Sarah and Mary Ann
Wilkinson who married son's of William and Betty.
William the son of above mentioned David was an auctioneer and
had sale rooms in Low Street which he made available to St. Marks at
Utley to enable them to raise funds for a new church.
David's brother Samuel went into law. Another brother Thomas
lived in Bingley and was a maltster.
Weatherhead landlord at the Red Lion in Silsden. His son Thomas
took over in 1861. Thomas son Herbert Henry took over next.
Thomas Waterhouse a Draper and manufacturer on South Street. After his
death his wife Ann continued to run the shop, his son also called Thomas
took over the manufacturing.
This family married into some of the better families in Keighley.
Betty Wilkinson daughter of Thomas and Elizabeth Shackleton married 20 Apr 1802
William Weatherhead landlord of the Commercial Inn, Church Green.
Frances Wilkinson married 1751 William Blakey, Woolstapler.
Judith Wilkinson married Bartholmew Catlow Carrodus, Worsted
Martha Wilkinson married 29 May 1810 William Anderton, Manufacturer.
Martha Wilkinson married 14 Feb 1834 Joseph Lapish, she was his second
Mary Wilkinson married 25 Nov 1845 David Wilkinson Weatherhead, Grocer,
and son of the above mentioned William Weatherhead, landlord of the Commercial
Mary Ann Wilkinson married 28 Feb 1843 Thomas Weatherhead, Maltster, and
son of the above mentioned William Weatherhead, landlord of the Commercial
Mary Hannah Wilkinson married 1887 James Weatherhead, landlord of the Commercial Inn, Church Green.
Sarah Wilkinson married 06 Jan 1842 Samuel Weatherhead, Solicitor and
son of the above mentioned William Weatherhead, landlord of the Commercial
David Wilkinson was born in early 1700's and produced at least five
children, eldest daughter Frances
married 1751 William Blakey,
Woolstapler the next, Deborah married John Blakey Attorney at Law. Son
Richard Williamson was born in 1765 and married to Sarah
Spencer, the daughter of John Spencer, Wool Stapler of Broom House.
Richard was a corn miller on New Bridge Street, and until 1801 had
been in partnership with Robert Evers. Sarah
and Richard had a number of children, the eldest son John Williamson
was a Worsted Spinner at Dam Side Mill, and later a farmer. His sons
also went into manufacturing, sons Francis and John at Griffe Mill, Stanbury.
John Wright married Sarah Clapham, the daughter of Holmes Clapham of
Utley. John and Sarah lived at Lower Laith and had at least four
children. John William Wright and brother Holmes had Freedom Mill, Morton
and were paper makers, their brother Henry became a solicitor and he
lived at Mayfield House, Keighley. Henry's daughter Maud Mary Wright
married Prince Prince Smith. Henry's son John James Wright went into
the papermaking business at Morton and married Emma Louisa Haggas,
the daughter of John Haggas and Elizabeth Clough. Another of Henry's
son's Holmes Wright followed his fathers footsteps and went into
law, up until 1901 he was in partnership with John J Waterworth and
Prospect Mill - Lumbfoot
- Damams - Ingrams . There is more on this line of the Wright family
on the Damems Mill Page
The following information supplied by Allan Smith: James, John &
Hebden WRIGHT were the sons of John WRIGHT snr. & Sarah HEBDEN,
who were married on 27 August 1832 at Bingley Parish Church. They were
all born in the New Road Side/Hermit Hole area, and became clerks/bookkeepers
to the BUTTERFIELDS at Prospect Mill. James WRIGHT, the
eldest, was born in 1833, and died at 'The Whins' on 21 April
1913. He married Jane Anne Manby PAGET, daughter of William
PAGET of Skipton, solicitor. No issue. Because of the WRIGHT's
associations with the BUTTERFIELDS in connection with Prospect
Mill, James WRIGHT became steward to Henry Isaac BUTTERFIELD
during the building of Cliffe Castle.
|| It has been said that when
BUTTERFIELD decided to demolish the old Cliffe Hall in order to
start from scratch and build Cliffe Castle, the house was taken
down and rebuilt by James WRIGHT at Whinswood, and re-named 'The
Certainly, the WRIGHTS were resident at 'The Whins' in 1881,
which fits in about right with the time that Cliffe Castle was
built. All the family are
buried at Ingrow Church, with the exception of Mrs. James
WRIGHT, who was interred at Waltonwrays Cemetery at Skipton. See
Butterfield for additional information.
in the Keighley News of Saturday 26 April 1913 about the funeral
of James Wright, says that James' wife Jane Ann Manby Paget, joined with
her sisters in erecting a stained glass window in Keighley Parish
Church to the memory of their parents, and their ancestor, the
Rev. Richard PAGET, first protestant rector of Keighley after
the reformation. He was Rector from 1578 to 1615, although his
name was spelt PATCHETT. His patrons were the Executors of
Henry, Duke of Cumberland.
Jane Ann Manby Paget was the daughter of Skipton Solicitor
William Paget and his wife Eliza Manby. Eliza Manby was the
daughter of John Manby who started life making clocks, and open
what was to become one of the best known shops in Skipton in a
building that had once been the Ship Inn.
||John WRIGHT of 'The
Elms', Damems. Born 1837, died Good Friday, 03 April 1896 at
Southport. Married Edith Elizabeth BERRY, daughter of Dr. BERRY
of Keighley. No issue.
|| Hebden WRIGHT, born 18 August 1843,
died at 'The Whins', 23 July 1914. Unmarried. Benefactor or the
Hebden Wright Trust, the Almshouses in Dorothy Street, and the
stained glass windows at Hermit Hole Chapel. In
spite of the brothers' fame as manufacturers, he is perhaps the
one whose name has lived on the longest due to the Hebden Wright
Charity, which provided a tea for old people of the district
right up into the 1970s. And there are still people living in
the Almshouses in Dorothy Street, also part of his Will.
Taken from THE LONDON GAZETTE, 1 SEPTEMBER, 1914 Re -HEBDEN WRIGHT,
Deceased. Pursuant to the Law of Property Amendment Act, 1859.
NOTICE is hereby given, that all creditors and other persons
having any claims or demands against the estate of Hebden
Wright, late of The Whins, Keighley, in the county of York,
retired Manufacturer, deceased who died on the 23rd day of July,
1914. and whose will was proved in the District Registry, at
Wakefield, of the Probate Division of His Majesty's High Court
of Justice, on the 14th day of August, 1914, by Hubert Edward
Wood, of Redcote, Keighley, Bank Manager, and Samuel Hey, of
Hanover-street, Keighley, Patent Agent, the executors therein
named, are hereby required to send the particulars, in writing,
of their claims or demands to Messrs. Spencer, Clarkson and Co.,
of 40, North-street, Keighley, the Solicitors for the said
executors, on or before the 30th day of September, 1914, after
which date the said executors will proceed to distribute the
assets of the said deceased amongst the persons entitled
thereto, having regard only to the claims and demands of which
they shall then have had notice; and they will not be liable for
the Assets of the said deceased, or any part thereof, so
distributed, to any person or persons of whose claims or demands
they shall not then have had notice.—'Dated this 28th day of
August, 1914. SPENCER. CLARKSON and CO.,-Solicitors for
the said Executors.
Extracts from the will provided by Allan Smith:
Extracted by Spencer Clarkson, solicitors, Keighley.
Hermit Hole Chapel, £2000.
Organist & male singers in choir, £7 per quarter of year,
for maintenance of organ and for purchase of music.
Victoria Hospital, £3000.
Worn Out Wesleyan Methodist Ministers & Ministers Auxiliary
Wesleyan Methodist Missionary Society, £2000.
Dr. Barnardo's, £1500.
Dr. Stephenson's National Childrens' Home & Orphanage, £1500.
Haworth & Stanbury Churches & Schools, £1000.
Stanbury Wesleyan Chapel, £1000.
Bogthorn Primitive Methodist Chapel, £1000 .
James Squire Wright of Trawden, cousin, £1000.
Herbert Edward WOOD, Redcote, Keighley, Bank Manager (executor
of Will), £500.
Samuel HEY, Hanover Street, Keighley, Patent Agent (also
Annie Spaggs, Bridlington, cousin, £500.
Charles Herbert Leeson, Saltburn, friend, £500.
John Gregory Leeson, Porth Cawl, friend, £500.
Mary Wardman, Aberdovey, £250.
Joseph Wright, Scholes, half cousin, £200.
Margaret Wright, also of Scholes, cousin, £200.
Lucy Hale, Liverpool, friend, £200.
Arthur Smith, Ingrow, employee,£200.
James Midgley, Ingrow, employee, £200.
Henry Hope, Ingrow, employee, £200.
Charles THOMPSON, Ingrow, employee, £200.
Abraham PRIESTLEY, Crosshills, employee, £200.
Tom AMBLER, Hermit Hole, employee, £200.
James KANE, Keighley, employee, £200.
Edward SIMPSON, Haworth, employee, £200.
Florence Isabella LEESON, 5 Sefton Rd., New Brighton, Cheshire,
Mary Harriet Alexandra LEESON, same address, £80 annuity.
Marion MASHITER, Milnthorpe, Westmoreland, £120 annuity.
Kate McMILLAN, Liscard, Cheshire, £80 annuity.
Malisa MITCHELL, Hermit Hole, £40 annuity.
As long as they all remained spinsters.
Thomas MASHITER, Grange-over-Sands, £60 annuity.
Walter SMITH, law stationer, North Street, Keighley, £40
John HELLIWELL, his servant, £20 annuity.
£1200 to build six cottages to be known as the Hebden Wright
Almshouses (still there in Dorothy Street), to be let rent free
to old and poor people living in Hermit Hole.
£2000 max. for four stained glass windows in memory of his
three siblings, James, John, Mary and himself.
Money for an annual tea for the Choir of Hermit Hole Chapel and
the old people of the district, living in Hermit Hole, Whins
Wood, Damems Road and Halifax Road from Whins Top to Wesley
Place Board School near the end of Damems Road. This
survived into the 1970s.
Will dated 21 July 1914. Died 23 July 1914 at 'The Whins' Estate
£42,687-6s-3d. Duty Paid £2985-6s-2d. Will Proved 14 August
1914. Registered 17 August 1914, Wakefield. Vol 36. Page 238.
grave at Ingrow is at the Keighley end of the church, over
at the back adjacent to Springfield Road.
All the WRIGHTS were doyens of the Methodist Chapel at Hermit
Hole, with James probably the most prominent, and it was through
him that Henry Isaac BUTTERFIELD donated the organ to Hermit
|William Miers Wright
a doctor who we believe came from Huddersfield married Jane
Bullcock and they lived at the Manor House on High Street,
Keighley. Their daughter Mary married first Robert Barlow, surgeon
and after his death in 1832 at the Manor House, she married Joseph
Craven of Walk Mill and Park House at Steeton. Jane the daughter
of the above mentioned Mary and Robert married Richard
Shackleton Butterfield of Woodlands, Haworth. Sadly the marriage
was short lived, Jane died within the year.